1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

WoW closes itself without any error message

Discussion in 'Games' started by Cadaverine, May 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cadaverine

    Cadaverine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Greetings everyone,

    I would like to describe a problem that has been happenning to my world of warcraft since a certain windows reinstallation. I have tried everything, even technical support, but nothing worked. The problem would be: i play for example for ten minutes and suddenly the game closes itself without any error message or something like that. it might happen at any time, for example at the time when i just right-click on WoW's icon, or while loading the loading screen, even when WoW is minimized to the taskbar etc. it is very weird... it has never happened before, although i've been playing WoW on this machine for approximately a year. As i couldn't do anything, i reinstalled windows for several times, but it hasn't solved the problem. Then something came to my mind: it is quite likely that some kind of windows service doesn't like WoW running, so i disabled all windows services in msconfig. at this point i thought i had solved the problem; the game ran normally for a few days, but things are not so easy and the problem turned up again. I reinstalled the system again and disabled all windows services but WoW closed itself in the same way. After this i downloaded a programme named Error Repair Professional and eliminated all errors in my system and it seemed to be working again. WoW ran without being closed for a few days, but you can find out what has happened... yes, WoW closes itself again.... i have checked my computer with eset smart security (nod32), ad-aware, spybot and no malware objects were found, i checked my HDD for bad sectors, but everything works properly, i even disabled Data Execution Prevention but no results. In my opinion, it cannot be a hardware problem because those two things mentioned above worked for a while and other games run perfectly and as i've written above, it ONLY happens to WoW even when minimized to the taskbar. And i noticed something when WoW closes. When this happens, i firmly feel that my cursor speed has slowed down. and yes, when i check mouse cursor speed in control panel, i see that it is back to default... so i set it back to maximum speed, run wow, wow closes and my cursor's speed is back to default again.... and it is also quite interesting that my system restore points just disappear for no reason, and after a system restart, windows couldn't load Luna Element black desktop theme. so i don't know what's going on, but i enclose a Hijack This log just in case someone finds something unordinary thing in it:

    P.S.: all my drivers are up-to-date.

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 21:08:34, on 2009.05.17.
    Platform: Windows XP Szervizcsomag 3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18702)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET Smart Security\ekrn.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jqs.exe
    C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET Smart Security\egui.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger\msnmsgr.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = about:blank
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName = Hivatkozások
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
    O2 - BHO: Windows Live bejelentkezési segítség - {9030D464-4C02-4ABF-8ECC-5164760863C6} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live\WindowsLiveLogin.dll
    O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jp2ssv.dll
    O2 - BHO: JQSIEStartDetectorImpl - {E7E6F031-17CE-4C07-BC86-EABFE594F69C} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\lib\deploy\jqs\ie\jqs_plugin.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [egui] "C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET Smart Security\egui.exe" /hide /waitservice
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger\msnmsgr.exe" /background
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'HELYI SZOLGÁLTATÁS')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'HÁLÓZATI SZOLGÁLTATÁS')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'SYSTEM')
    O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'Default user')
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {85d1f590-48f4-11d9-9669-0800200c9a66} - C:\WINDOWS\bdoscandel.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Uninstall BitDefender Online Scanner - {85d1f590-48f4-11d9-9669-0800200c9a66} - C:\WINDOWS\bdoscandel.exe
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O16 - DPF: {5D86DDB5-BDF9-441B-9E9E-D4730F4EE499} (BDSCANONLINE Control) - http://download.bitdefender.com/resources/scanner/sources/en/scan8/oscan8.cab
    O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/windowsupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1241878219140
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://fpdownload2.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/current/swflash.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{F3B90248-C91B-464C-9998-597854DC6CAF}: NameServer = 82.44.0.1,192.168.0.1
    O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    O23 - Service: ATI Smart - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2sgag.exe
    O23 - Service: ESET HTTP Server (EhttpSrv) - ESET - C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET Smart Security\EHttpSrv.exe
    O23 - Service: ESET Service (ekrn) - ESET - C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET Smart Security\ekrn.exe
    O23 - Service: Java Quick Starter (JavaQuickStarterService) - Sun Microsystems, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jqs.exe
    O23 - Service: PsKill (PSKLLSVC) - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\PSKLLSVC.EXE
     
  2. Changster

    Changster

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    try compatiblity mode yet?
     
  3. Cadaverine

    Cadaverine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    yes, i did, but didn't work.
     
  4. RogueSpear00

    RogueSpear00

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    472
    I'm betting bad memory or bad vid card (or vid memory) bad HDD or ESET is causing an issue. The problem doesn't seem software related if you did a proper reinstall. If you have a problem, reinstall the OS, and the problem still occurs then more than likely the problem isn't software related.

    Run memtest on the machine for 1-2 passes. Test your memory - go to http://www.memtest.org/ and download the bootable cd rom. Burn it using the instructions, boot to the CD and let it run.

    You said that you reinstalled Windows then the problem still was occuring - was ESET installed at the time? I would try a fresh reinstall with just Windows, and install WoW - run it and see if the problem occurs. Install each of your other apps to see which one is causing an issue - if at all.

    What did you use to test your HDD? Need to use a reputable 3rd party software to do a HDD test, not the ones that are included with Windows.
     
  5. Cadaverine

    Cadaverine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    I will try your suggestions but i forgot to tell something. memory issue can't cause the problem (IMO), because i had just bought a new memory card when the the problem turned up and WoW closed with both old and new mem cards. nevertheless, i'll try memtest, of course. As for my HDD, i tested it with i dont know what the name of the software is, but it was recommanded by many sites, so i tried it, but it didn't find any bad sectors. but if it comes to my mind, i will write it of course. i don't know if ESET might cause the problem, because when i was searching for the issue in my system, i shut it down and the problem still occured. in spite of this it might cause a problem i don't know. and i would have a question concerning my video card. can video card issue cause the problem when WoW is minimized to the taskbar using approximately 7 megabites from the memory and very minimal system resource? because if i know well, WoW doesn't use video card at this time, but i may be wrong. i mentioned in my first post that only WoW closes (also in the case described in the previous sentences), other games run properly even the ones that need more system resource. So can it be still caused by a video card issue? If so, video card and ESET remains. And one more question :) don't you find it interesting that when WoW closes my mouse cursor speed is set back to default in windows? it occurs every time when WoW closes itself. it 's very odd.

    EDIT: i eliminated all errors in my system with Error Repair Professional two days ago again and today i ran WoW again and it didn't close itself for i don't know how much time! i didn't waited for it to close (maybe it would be running up to now if i hadn't had to leave the computer). so what is going on here is very strange... and anno, when i tried unchecking all windows services, it worked in such a way that when i unchecked them all, WoW worked properly after a system restart. but when i checked them all and restarted the computer like this, WoW closed itself again. After this i unchecked the services again, and WoW worked normally again.
     
  6. ketsueki13

    ketsueki13

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    358
    Most people on this board do not support "Registry Cleaners" (Error Repair Professional), since they often cause more problems than they fx.
    If WoW is crashing, the Error Report should come up.
    If it isn't, there's a decent likelyhood a damaged install or update. This can happen for various reasons. Have you tried to run the Repair? (This can be found in your WoW folder)
    I don't know what a great idea it is to run Windows with all the Windows services disabled either. I don't usually recommend messing with services as it can mess a lot up. Though, maybe someone else can comment on this.
     
  7. Cadaverine

    Cadaverine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    That's right registry cleaners cause more problems... i'm experiencing it... i think i'll make a new windows reinstallation, but i have a feeling that it won't solve the problem, either.
    There is no error log when WoW closes. it is as if i used alt+f4 buttons to close it, but i don't do anything. And when WoW closes, it does so very fast. When WoW worked properly, i needed to wait at least 5 seconds after i pushed the exit button to close the game and now it immediately dissappears. anyway, i thoroughly investigated this whole thing. these "crashes" aren't caused by damaged installation or patching. i tried patching back the game and the problem still persisted. and the damaged installation isn't right as well because if a file were to be corrupted for example, the installer woudn't let the installation continue and if the installer weren't to install several files, consequently, the game woudn't start. but WoW starts, and i can play for some minutes, but it closes itself without any prior sign... no error message or log... as if i closed it, but i don't do anything. something commands WoW to close, but i don't know what, no malware software found on my machine. and i tried two wow installers, and it didn't matter which i installed, the problem persisted. From this point, i am suspicious of my HDD. Because this problem turned up after a reinstallation which is always preceded by a HDD-format. i have a feeling that my windows installation cd blew up something in my HDD, and if i remember well, it formatted my pendrive too, but it was my fault. it's absolutely obvious that video card issue can't cause this in this case, because other games haven't any problem like this, and WoW closes when minimized to taskbar using 7 megabites memory and not using video card, too. Maybe i'll try two different partitions during the next reinstallation, but maybe it isn't a HDD problem, because i didn't find any bad sectors (i used both CHKDSK and another program, and they showed no problems but i'll check it with Partition Magic, too). what problems may a HDD have except for bad sectors?

    "Have you tried to run the Repair?" yes i tried, but no problems found

    And what do you mean by "various reasons"?

    And don't anyone know why my cursor speed in windows is set back to default when WoW vanishes? because if it has an explanation, the problem may be solved
     
  8. ketsueki13

    ketsueki13

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    358
    A damaged install or update can happen by a program interrupting either an install or update, an update not downloading properly, a mod, Windows issues, and many other things.
    As far as your mouse goes, this isn't an issue, but on purpose:
    If you can't get it set in game where you like it, it can be disabled, but I recommend attempting to set it in game first.
    What mods, if any do you use?
     
  9. Cadaverine

    Cadaverine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks for you reply. You mean addons by mods, don't you? I use for example atlasloot, bagnon, groupcalendar, cooldowncount, proximo, deadly boss mods, x-perl, and i think that's all. but these addons don't cause the problem, i shut them down, and the "crashes" persisted.

    anyway, where can i disable this mouse thing?
     
  10. ketsueki13

    ketsueki13

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    358
    You can disable the mouse behavior by adding this line to your config.wtf:
    SET useDesktopMouseSpeed "1"

    Thank you for the information on your mods. I'm just trying to narrow things down a bit.
    Have you gone to the Event Viewer to see if anything is in there around the time it happens?
     
  11. Cadaverine

    Cadaverine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Yes, i have, but i found nothing :( maybe my windows installation cd went wrong or i don't know. my mem cards, video card, and hdd work properly. i can't think of another thing. maybe my motherboard is wrong, but if so, i think the whole machine woudn't start in this case...
     
  12. ketsueki13

    ketsueki13

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    358
    Check for any driver updates?
    Check your device manager for any errors?
    Other than that, I have to admit, I'm completely out of ideas at the this point. I'll keep looking, but I'm hoping someone will have some further ideas.
     
  13. Cadaverine

    Cadaverine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    drivers are all up-to-date and WoW used to work with obselete drivers.
    now i've checked device manager and have found something. Below the System Devices, some of the devices hasn't any drivers installed, for example DMA-controller, motherboard resource etc. i don't know if they had any formerly, because i didn't checked them at that time. would you be so kind as to check it for me if these devices have drivers installed in your system? Please

    EDIT: i added "SET useDesktopMouseSpeed "1"" to config.wtf and mouse speed in windows is still set back to default when WoW closes and only when WoW closes, it isn't set back while WoW is running (i changed figure 1 to 0 as well, but the same here). And you needn't check if those devices mentioned above have any drivers installed, because i checked them on my bro's machine and they didn't have, so that's not the problem.
     
  14. ketsueki13

    ketsueki13

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    358
    Unless there's an exclamation mark next to it, there's no problem with it. My DMA-controller has no driver.
    If you actually close WoW rather than having it crash, does it reset the setting, too?
    Like I recommended before, try setting the sensitivity in WoW without that line in your config.
    If that doesn't work, make sure you're typing it right.
    It should be
    SET useDesktopMouseSpeed "1"
    with no quotes other than where I've put them.
     
  15. Cadaverine

    Cadaverine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    yeah i did, and mouse sensitivity didn't reset in windows
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/827904