1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

WoW Lag

Discussion in 'Games' started by hdjaffdf, Sep 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hdjaffdf

    hdjaffdf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Hello, after buying a new router - D-Link DIR-625, I've been getting a ton of lag when playing World of Warcraft (usually around 4k ping). I have been playing WoW for a while now and this is the first time encountering this kind of problem. I've also tried port forwarding but it did not help much. I don't believe it's my video card or anything like that as I get a good 60 fps. My internet is Shaw High Speed Internet and I am not at my limit for downloading or anything like that and I am using a wired connection. Can anyone help me? Thank you for your time. (Note: I'm pretty new to this router thing as well, so I don't know if it really is the router's fault).
     
  2. Chrismichael

    Chrismichael

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    245
    If your Frames per second is high but your Game latency is high then you have a connection issue not a video card issue. If I were to guess it could be your router, but someone with more knowledge on routers could help you better.
     
  3. Darkicon

    Darkicon

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    265
    Sounds like you got an unreliable ISP, or the server you play on is getting to it's limit.

    Also note that in large cities in Warcraft you can get very laggy, when I played Warcraft, I had 50mbps/20mbps FiOS, and very high FPS, but at night when everybody was online, when I went into a big city, I would get horrible lag.

    Also, video card lag and internet lag is a big difference, BUT, 60 FPS is quite low, and can be pretty choppy, and make it look like internet lag, but 4,000ms ping is ridiculously high.

    Are you sure you don't have bittorrent running, or spyware? Bittorrent eats up your bandwidth and will lag the hell out of you.
     
  4. Chrismichael

    Chrismichael

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    245
    Yeah downloading torrents is guaranteed to put you in the red. I was raiding on a High pop server at 300ms,, but I got this program and it keeps me steady under 100ms.
    http://www.curse.com/downloads/details/10599/
    Make sure and read all the literature you can on it before install, but it really does work.
     
  5. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
    So if I understand this correctly, if you bypass your new router the game returns to normal... no more lag/high ping.

    The first thing I might try is to check your firmware and make sure you have the latest.

    I suggest you also look/post here:

    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/dlink

    http://www.dslreports.com/nsearch?boardlist=119&cat=remark&advanced=1&119=1&p=10&o=r&q=DIR-625

    And if this is your ISP here:

    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/shaw
     
  6. hdjaffdf

    hdjaffdf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    @MysticEyes

    Thank you very much, updating the firmware worked.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/752707

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice