1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wrong keystroke output.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by S42, Jan 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. S42

    S42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    I'm having a rather unusual problem. On certain programs (Such as firefox) my keyboard layout gets rearranged. Below is what the rearranged version looks like.
    [​IMG]
    It's still normal on most Microsoft programs so far, like IE and notepad, but on Firefox and GIMP 2.8, this new layout sometimes gets used. Not always, and not always right away. Sometimes the program is in use for an hour or so before it starts.
    On-screen keyboard notices the change every time I switch between an affected program and, say, notepad, and I don't think it's a problem with the keyboard or my language settings since it only affects certain programs. However, for reference, my keyboard is a Dell Ps/2 of unknown age (but surprisingly decent condition.) My language settings are english, USA. My computer is a Dell Dimension 3000.
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,653
    First Name:
    David
    Is there a language or keyboard setting within these programs that are giving headaches?
     
  3. S42

    S42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    No, I looked...
    I think it must be something to do with a setting or glitch on Windows itself since it affects more than one program, but I have no idea what it could be.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you reported the post
    your probably in the correct forum here - All Other Software is not really the forum for this issue , as it appears to be a windows issue - it maybe a virus/malware issue, but we can wait and see DaveA suggestions following your reply to his question
     
  5. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,653
    First Name:
    David
    After rereading every thing, I have nothing else to suggest.

    You have restarted the machine and not just do a suspend, sleep or hibernation, but a full Shut down and start up?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083621

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice