1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

x1950 Pro PSU requirement

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by firewire36, Oct 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. firewire36

    firewire36 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Hi, I'm new to tech support forums and i just wanted to find out if i can use the x1950 pro on my computer i have. I have a p5gd1-vm motherboard with an intel pentium 4 3.0ghz processor, 1.5ghz pc3200 ram and 350W vantec van-350n power supply.

    http://www.ramelectronics.net/assets/images/storage/VAN-350N-spec.jpg except in my PSU the DC output is 323W Max output

    x1950 Pro
    http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pr...angid=EN&sku_id=0665000FS10081500&catid=10524

    if this isnt good enough can anyone reccomend a good PSU that would also be good for future upgrades.

    Thank you.
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,199
    A short answer no. ATI says a min of 450W with at least 30amp on the 12V rail for that card. It looks like you are running a prescott cpu. If that is correct, then I would go with a min of 550W and 35amp on the 12V rail.

    Do not go cheap on the pw supply. Doing so can [and often does] cause ALL types of problems.
     
  3. firewire36

    firewire36 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,199
    I am no fan of ocz products however it would probably work. Here is a link to a FPS unit Note this one has a combined 60amps on the 12V and it is a little cheaper.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - x1950 requirement
  1. robirocz28
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    218
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/642814

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice