xbox 360 brigde problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

the_betaryed_94

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
12
hey i have been on xbox live for 4 to 5 months working fine now and 3 days ago i turned on my pc like normal then turned on my xbox and it will not get the ip =/
my m8 came over with his xbox and laptop and he brige his xbox 360 and laptop and it worked fine he recoverd my acc so we could play left 4 dead 2 and soo that meen my acc not banned
i think it must be my pc not my xbox
here some snap shots




taken useing easycap dc60 =]

ok pc snap shots
brigded
in red is my easy cap

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : your-e6f02835ae
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft TV/Video Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 0.8.0.4
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Network Bridge (Network Bridge) 8:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : MAC Bridge Miniport
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-18-F3-4B-7A-56
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.3
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 06 April 2010 01:45:40
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 07 April 2010 01:45:40

C:\Documents and Settings\Compaq_Administrator>
unbrigded

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : your-e6f02835ae
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft TV/Video Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 0.8.0.4
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin 54g Wireless USB Network Adap
ter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-75-FE-89-74
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.3
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 06 April 2010 01:40:19
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 07 April 2010 01:40:19

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-F3-4B-7A-56
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.88.202
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
anything else u guys need? =]

sorry for any miss spelling im dyslexic

thanks

edit
i have non-Windows firewall or security suite or maybe even some other security application only delfut windows xp fire wall witch is off

tryed brigdeing to my ps3 and it says obtaining ip timed out
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
5
try reseting the router and modem then wait 30 secs and turn the xbox back on ... not sure if it will help but it always worked for me
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,340
First Name
Terry
Bridge the connections again. Shut down the PC and Xbox and unplug the router. Then plug in router; then boot PC; then turn on Xbox. (Just giving more specifics of martn316's advice.)

If the Xbox still does not get a 192.168.0.x IP address it's probably because of a non-Windows firewall or security suite (or maybe even some other security application) that got mis-configured, corrupted or out of date. Assuming you have one uninstall it and run their Removal Tool if one is provided. You can then reinstall it after testing.
 

the_betaryed_94

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
12
Bridge the connections again. Shut down the PC and Xbox and unplug the router. Then plug in router; then boot PC; then turn on Xbox. (Just giving more specifics of martn316's advice.)

If the Xbox still does not get a 192.168.0.x IP address it's probably because of a non-Windows firewall or security suite (or maybe even some other security application) that got mis-configured, corrupted or out of date. Assuming you have one uninstall it and run their Removal Tool if one is provided. You can then reinstall it after testing.
im going to try the top bit now i have to firewall/ anti virus aprat from windows fire wall with is off

edit didn't work =[
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
90
Your xbox is getting an APIPA address 169. This happens when a DHCP server (usually a home router) cannot be reached with discover messages. This is then automatically configured by windows in the 169.x.x subnet. Something is definetly blocking the DISCOVER messages from the xbox from getting to the router, probably caused by third party firewall/software interfering

Like said above try re-bridging.

Also statically configure an address on the xbox and it will work probably, try 192.168.0.5, MASK 255.255.255.0, GATEWAY: 192.168.0.1.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,340
First Name
Terry
Couple questions, Anthony7. I agree that the Xbox is probably getting an APIPA, but why/how can you state that so matter of factly? And if a firewall is blocking getting an IP configuration, what makes you think that assigning a static IP will do any good? And why are you suggesting an IP address that is almost guaranteed to be in the router's Dhcp server's address range?
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
90
I dont understand the probably getting an APIPA, what else uses this IP range?

Why do I say try setting a static address? Where I posted from earlier I had to statically set my IP in a DHCP envrio, as the DHCP server was not replying or getting the Discover messages.

This is troubleshooting I dont know that it is going to work if he statically configures an IP, I dont have access to the equipment, we dont know that re-bridging will fix the problem either. If it solves his problem as a temporary solution than great, if not well on to the next thing.

And by default all IP's in the subnet are in the DHCP pool on most SOHO routers, any address I suggested is GUARANTEED to be in the pool.:)

The best thing for the user to do would be to do a packet capture on the network bridge and post the results, so everyone can see what is going on.

edit
i have non-Windows firewall or security suite or maybe even some other security application only delfut windows xp fire wall witch is off

tryed brigdeing to my ps3 and it says obtaining ip timed out
Does this not mean after so many Discover messages are broadcasted that the server has not replied(not recieved whatever) and an APIPA address has been configured?
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,340
First Name
Terry
And by default all IP's in the subnet are in the DHCP pool on most SOHO routers
Not "most"; I'd say "a few," and maybe it's "some," but surely not most. All of my 6 SOHO routers default to about 100 in the Dhcp address range. I'm not going to continue this, as it's not helping the OP.

the_betaryed_94, I don't know what you can do with an Xbox. If you can determine what IP address it has when the bridge is in place, please tell us.

If you previously had a firewall or security suite on the PC what was it?
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,340
First Name
Terry
The only two things I can think of are

a. security application, as Anthony7 and I have said before.

b. the NIC on the Xbox is failing. Try the static IP configuration (but my suggestion is to use a much higher last number; say 192.168.0.200).

In your first post you had "tryed brigdeing to my ps3 and it says obtaining ip timed out." You really meant ps3, not Xbox, right? This would be another indication that the problem is with the PC. Or it could be a problem with the cable.
 

the_betaryed_94

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
12
The only two things I can think of are

a. security application, as Anthony7 and I have said before.

b. the NIC on the Xbox is failing. Try the static IP configuration (but my suggestion is to use a much higher last number; say 192.168.0.200).

In your first post you had "tryed brigdeing to my ps3 and it says obtaining ip timed out." You really meant ps3, not Xbox, right? This would be another indication that the problem is with the PC. Or it could be a problem with the cable.
no i ment ps3 i have xbox and ps3 and i tryed staic didnt work
u got teamviewer?
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,340
First Name
Terry
Let's see what you have running on the PC ...

Click here to download HJTInstall.exe
  • Save HJTInstall.exe to your desktop.
  • Doubleclick on the HJTInstall.exe icon on your desktop.
  • By default it will install to C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis .
  • Click on Install.
  • It will create a HijackThis icon on the desktop.
  • Once installed, it will launch Hijackthis.
  • Click on the Do a system scan and save a logfile button. It will scan and the log should open in notepad.
  • Click on "Edit > Select All" then click on "Edit > Copy" to copy the entire contents of the log.
  • Come back here to this thread and Paste the log in your next reply.
  • DO NOT have Hijackthis fix anything yet. Most of what it finds will be harmless or even required.
 

the_betaryed_94

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
12
Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 01:04:01, on 07/04/2010
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\arservice.exe
C:\WINDOWS\eHome\ehRecvr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\eHome\ehSched.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\StkASv2K.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\dllhost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wscntfy.exe
C:\WINDOWS\ehome\ehtray.exe
C:\WINDOWS\RTHDCPL.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\ARPWRMSG.EXE
C:\Program Files\HP\HP Software Update\HPwuSchd2.exe
C:\Program Files\Belkin\F5D7050v3\Belkinwcui.exe
C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger\msnmsgr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\eHome\ehmsas.exe
C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Contacts\wlcomm.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\mmc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe
C:\HP\KBD\KBD.EXE
c:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
C:\Program Files\TeamViewer\Version5\TeamViewer.exe
C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iehome&locale=EN_GB&c=64&bd=PRESARIO&pf=desktop
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iesearch&locale=EN_GB&c=64&bd=PRESARIO&pf=desktop
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://search.live.com/sphome.aspx
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://search.live.com
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iehome&locale=EN_GB&c=64&bd=PRESARIO&pf=desktop
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iesearch&locale=EN_GB&c=64&bd=PRESARIO&pf=desktop
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iesearch&locale=EN_GB&c=64&bd=PRESARIO&pf=desktop
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iesearch&locale=EN_GB&c=64&bd=PRESARIO&pf=desktop
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iehome&locale=EN_GB&c=64&bd=PRESARIO&pf=desktop
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://search.live.com/sphome.aspx
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,ShellNext = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iehome&locale=EN_GB&c=64&bd=PRESARIO&pf=desktop
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {5C255C8A-E604-49b4-9D64-90988571CECB} - (no file)
O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O2 - BHO: Windows Live Sign-in Helper - {9030D464-4C02-4ABF-8ECC-5164760863C6} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live\WindowsLiveLogin.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ehTray] C:\WINDOWS\ehome\ehtray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ftutil2] rundll32.exe ftutil2.dll,SetWriteCacheMode
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RTHDCPL] RTHDCPL.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AlwaysReady Power Message APP] ARPWRMSG.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Recguard] C:\WINDOWS\SMINST\RECGUARD.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPBootOp] "C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\HP Boot Optimizer\HPBootOp.exe" /run
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HP Software Update] C:\Program Files\HP\HP Software Update\HPwuSchd2.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [F5D7050v3] C:\Program Files\Belkin\F5D7050v3\Belkinwcui.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger\msnmsgr.exe" /background
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
O4 - .DEFAULT User Startup: Pin.lnk = C:\hp\bin\CLOAKER.EXE (User 'Default user')
O4 - .DEFAULT User Startup: PinMcLnk.lnk = C:\hp\bin\cloaker.exe (User 'Default user')
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Translate English Word - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmwordtrans.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward Links - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cached Snapshot of Page - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Similar Pages - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page into English - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra button: Connection Help - {E2D4D26B-0180-43a4-B05F-462D6D54C789} - C:\WINDOWS\PCHEALTH\HELPCTR\Vendors\CN=Hewlett-Packard,L=Cupertino,S=Ca,C=US\IEButton\support.htm
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Connection Help - {E2D4D26B-0180-43a4-B05F-462D6D54C789} - C:\WINDOWS\PCHEALTH\HELPCTR\Vendors\CN=Hewlett-Packard,L=Cupertino,S=Ca,C=US\IEButton\support.htm
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nwprovau.dll
O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\1050\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
O23 - Service: Remote Packet Capture Protocol v.0 (experimental) (rpcapd) - CACE Technologies, Inc. - C:\Program Files\WinPcap\rpcapd.exe
O23 - Service: Syntek STK1160 Service (StkASSrv) - Syntek America Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\System32\StkASv2K.exe

--
End of file - 7170 bytes
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,340
First Name
Terry
I don't see anything that would seem to block the connection. As another test try Safe Mode with Networking.

You only have SP2, but I don't know if SP3 includes any fixes for bridging.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top