XBOX Live to router to wireless adapter to w router???

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Kingcodez

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 31, 2004
Messages
19
Ok. First I'm happily running XBOX Live through the Linksys Wireless game adapter. (sometimes it cant see my network im planning on getting a better wireless router) What I wanna do is connect 2 Xboxes, this Laptop (the wireless card dosent work anymore for some reason and yes I did set my router to allow this pc to connect) and in the future my BLEH PS2 :p
So last week and 40 $ later I bought the Linksys 5 port SWITCH, and a lot of cat 5 cables. hook the laptop and Xboxes up, flip my box on and BAM no connection (but since i was bummed i did like playing halo against my self on the other lcd screen) So I brought it back my friend says i needed a router.

WILL THIS WORK!!?1!one?question!?
umm i need BOTH xboxes to be able to get on the net.
It's a wireless B network and the adapter is a Linksys wireless B game adapter.

Thanks in Advance!
-Kingcodez
[email protected]

(now on to my networking problems...)

Oh this laptop is connected through the very dsame adapter i really hate to keep swapping cables

CANT SOMEONE MAKE A Y SPLITTER GAH!
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2001
Messages
743
Yes you need a router.

Right now either your xbox or laptop is getting the external ip address you've been assigned from your broadband modem.

The router will take that ip address for itself and then section off a new group of ip addresses which it will hand out to each internal device (xbox, ps2, laptop, etc)....

basically, yeah, you need a router!
 

Kingcodez

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 31, 2004
Messages
19
so my wireless router splits up the ip and gives me a piece of pie no pizza (im hungry :/) adding another router will split up this PIECE into more PIECES?
X.X.XX.XX.1 lets say is this laptops ip through the adapter
the router will make the piece smaller so my xboxes can get a bite?

Thanks so much I've been to a ton of boards for months and now i have the answer
off to radio shack
 

Kingcodez

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 31, 2004
Messages
19
oops The MAIN router is downstairs the wireless adapter is basically taking the place of a ethernet cable connecting to the second router
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2001
Messages
743
hum. i didn't realize you already had a router :D

You should only need ONE router. Let's start at the beginning of your network. YOu have a cable/dsl modem which is plugged into a ________? And then into that device you have plugged what? and so on?
 

Kingcodez

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 31, 2004
Messages
19
Problem is solved it worked :)

well... *playes song*
The modem is connected to the wireless router
the wireless router is connected to the wireless adapter
the wireless adapter is connected to a wired router
the wired router is connected to the 2 xboxes and ps2
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top