1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XCel 2010 doesn't show spreadsheet

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by DOTOPS, Oct 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DOTOPS

    DOTOPS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium , Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5550 @ 1.83GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 13
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3069 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 238472 MB, Free - 171837 MB;
    Motherboard: Quanta, 30D2, 79.2E, None
    Antivirus: Norton Internet Security, Updated and Enabled

    When opening XCel 2010, I get a blank screen. I am attempting to open a new file.

    I attempted to copy part of an existing file to a new file but lost it when asked if I wanted to place the file-in-transfer to a ?notepad? for future completion of the transfer.

    I have re-booted, but that doesn't work. Can you help?
     
  2. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,608
    First Name:
    Hans
    Hi, welcome to the forum,
    This is a setting, you can either 'tell' excel to open with nothing or open with a blank file.
    You can then choose your own file to open or press File New to create a new document.
    Check the Excel Options under the File menu
     
  3. DOTOPS

    DOTOPS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thank you. I'll need an interpreter (lack of terminology knowledge on my part) but I'll try it.

    Thanks for your time and caring,

    AgHair
     
  4. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,608
    First Name:
    Hans
    I don't have Excel 2010 available at this time but if you check under optons you'll come accross it.
     
  5. steve_qid

    steve_qid

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    go to File>New
     
  6. DOTOPS

    DOTOPS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    While on the phone with a knowledgeable friend I accidently pased my cursor over the bottom of my screen. When I saw that the cursor went to a double-pointed form, I figured that I should try dragging the bottom upwards. Sure enough - there was my spreadsheet!

    I still can't tell you what I did to collapse the spreadsheet. But, in the end, my sharp eye made up for my dull brain.

    Thank you all for your attempts to help.

    DOTOPS
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1024678

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice