1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Xerox Phaser 8500 print quality - fuzzy print

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by tchandler, Sep 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tchandler

tchandler Thread Starter

I have been operating this color printer for 3 years now in our small business. over the past year, we have erratic problems with fuzzy print..
    Typically, the first page may be fuzzy( dots or ink below character) and the resy may be OK ... Or occasionally, a page or two in the middle of a print job may be fuzzy.
    WE have had techs spend many hours, replacing parts, cleaing the drum and whle the quality is improved (not as fuzzy, we stll get an occasional page with this problem.
    This has been a good printer.. the solid ink is easy to maintain and the overall ink cost seems less than other color printers we have had.

Should I junk this machine?

2. arknorth

arknorth

Two things I see when checking their site - Having used one of these beasties, I remember that the waste tray must be cleaned regularly, or you start getting backup and crummy images from this type of machine. The other is that there is a firmware upgrade for certain model printheads - you might want to see it you's is one of these. You'll find the documentaion here - http://www.office.xerox.com/printers/color-printers/phaser-8500-8550/sprt-enus.html#en

A-N

3. tchandler

tchandler Thread Starter

Actually our printer makes very little waste ..
    I clean the waste tray regularly but there are only a few dots of ink in there*(Xerox had a firmware upgrade that minimizes waster ink which i applied last year)