1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XFX ATI HD 6950 questions

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Aunbis, Apr 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Aunbis

    Aunbis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    PC setup :
    XFX HD 6950
    i7-860 @ 3.36Ghz Temps 35C idle around 45 load
    1TB HDD 7200rpm
    900W rocketfish gaming power supply
    EVGA P55 classified 200
    8GB of DDR3 Ram

    Okay I had a XFX HD 5770 1GB and i need something with more power so i got the XFX HD 6950 to be precise here's the link from where got it from http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150530 .to tell you the truth I was quite disappointed. I was expecting something a little more. So my questions are is this XFX HD 6950 different from any other HD 6950, i think maybe thats why its not so powerful,? Did I got a good upgrade from the XFX HD 5770 to the XFX HD 6950? would overclocking void my warranty? How to overclock it?and what are the safe temperatures for this graphic card? thank you for your time:D
     
  2. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Hey there, It seems as though you have a bottleneck somewhere else if that isn't making any difference. When running a game leave task manager open in the background and go on the performance tab. This will show you how much CPU you are using in a percentage.

    Jack-O-Bytes
     
  3. Markgg88

    Markgg88

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Kinda hard to see any bottleneck with that system, what kind of issues are you experiencing?
    BTW, Rocketfish PSU's are junk.
     
  4. Aunbis

    Aunbis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I just test it out right now.I played black ops maxed out and the CPU usage was 79% when loading but only for a second and around 16% ingame. I bought the HD 6950 because i seen videos online of people maxing out crysis and getting good fps ,but when i max out i only get 20 fps or lower.
     
  5. Markgg88

    Markgg88

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    What resolution are you playing at? In Crysis, the 6950 will average about 30 FPS with a 1920x1200 resolution, and 20 FPS with a 2560x1600. 4xAA.
     
  6. Aunbis

    Aunbis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    1080p
     
  7. Markgg88

    Markgg88

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    You should definitely get more FPS then.

    Is Crysis the only game that you get low FPS with?
     
  8. Aunbis

    Aunbis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    :eek: so what do i do now ???? did i got a bad GPU or is it something else?
     
  9. Aunbis

    Aunbis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    O and also GTA 4 I can hardly play because the fps are so bad when maxed out and same goes with the new stalker game . But I can play black ops maxed out with 60 FPS or more and I was that I was playing Starcraft 2 maxed out with 84FPS
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/990109