XP and 2K Install Problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

nitro237

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 13, 2000
Messages
88
I have an HP with a Cel 900 , came loaded with XP Home Edition . The other day it would not boot up , saying it could not find a .dll file . I have reinstalled XP and Win 2k at least 2 dozen times on different computers , so I thought I would just reformat and do a fresh install .

Here's where the problem begins . When I put the XP disk in and booted up it started laoding the setup files like usual , then it stopped and said it could not copy a file . After several attempts , I skip the file and it continued to load . Then it just keeps on hitting files it says it can not copy until it blue screens .

I thought maybe my disk was bad so I got a brand new , unopened XP disk and the same thing . I got a Win 2K disk and same thing . I got a Win98SE disk it it loaded it fine . I tried to upgrade to Win XP from 98SE and when it started copying , same thing .

I thought maybe the CDRom was just not reading properly , so I changed that out . Same results .

Any suggestion ? Thanks
 

nitro237

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 13, 2000
Messages
88
Too late , but , I have ran FDISK on it at least 3 times , have reformatted at least 5 times .
 

nitro237

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 13, 2000
Messages
88
there's nothing to recover , never could get all the setup files to copy . Never had XP to get past the setup files .
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2002
Messages
27
What about a utility that wipes your HD clean? Then you should be able to start from scratch.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2002
Messages
27
I'll shoot you an email with the instructions. It's a dangerous way and would not recommend it unless there was no other route. So before you try this, keep looking for alternate ways to fix it. Email will be on its way shortly.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2001
Messages
204
I have a GA-7ZX-1 with a 700 AMD cpu 8.4 gig HD 320 meg Ram
Having simural problems woun't copy setup files to the Windows installation Folders
27% is as far as I can get.

Any help would be appreciated

Joe
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top