XP Computer boots up but won't run

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TheRobatron

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
551
My computer (XP 64-bit - see my computer specs) was working fine yesterday but this morning it started acting strangely. When it is booting up, all the white spaces are replaced with apostrophe characters and there are lines across some sections of it and the Windows logo. These are consistant every time it happens, so it's not the monitors or interferance. After it has finished booting, my moniters just say "No signal input", where the login screen should be.

It works fine in safe mode which is a good sign, but I'm not sure what to change in safe mode to make it work in normally. All I have done this morning to change it is change around the VGA and DVI cables of my other computers to put them through a KVM switch, so it should not have affected my main PC. Yesterday I removed the cover for a minute (would that make a difference?)

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,410
What happens when you connect the system directly to a monitor ie without the switch?
 

TheRobatron

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
551
It's already connected directly to the monitors - they have two inputs on them so my main PC is connected directly to both and the KVM switch connects two more PCs to the other input on one of the monitors. I don't think it's a problem with the output because one of the monitors is only connected to my main PC and that has the same problem.

I hope that's clear enough.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,410
Have you done any troubleshooting such as uninstall and reinstall the video driver?

Before doing the above, either make an image file for backup OR at least make a restore point.
 

TheRobatron

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
551
No, how would I go about doing that?

Edit: I'm currently on my PC in safe mode. I've looked at the error log for Windows and found the error that's stopping Windows from starting:

The following boot-start or system-start driver(s) failed to load:
AmdK8
AvgMfx64
Fips

How do I find those drivers?

I've also looked at the application error log and found that it's AVG messing up, with about 100 errors, occurring twice or three times a second.
 

TheRobatron

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
551
AVG says the installation is broken (never! :eek:) and that I should reinstall it. I have a paid licence for it - does anyone know if I can just re-enter the code and be able to coninue using it if I do reinstall it (which seems like my only option)?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,410
I have installed avg many many times with the same serial number. It is no problem at all.
 

TheRobatron

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
551
I have uninstalled AVG but I still have two drivers that aren't found:

The following boot-start or system-start driver(s) failed to load:
AmdK8
Fips

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

Any ideas on how to get rid of this error?
 

TheRobatron

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
551
I think you were right about installing the video drivers. It seems Microsoft in their infinite wisdom have updated my PC and messed up my video drivers. The only problem is I can't find where to download drivers for my ATI Radeon X1050 graphics card. The ATI site doesn't have drivers for that specific card - will one close to it work?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,410
That is a pretty old card now. I checked the driver archive and the 7.12 driver supports that card. With a 32bit os, it would be no problem however with 64bit the driver must be signed. You might be able to install the later one however I would download the older [7.12] and install that one.

To properly install your driver;
1 Uninstall any video driver and or software suite
2 Reboot and cancel any found new hw wiz
3 Install the driver.

FWIW I just install the ati driver and NOT CCC.
 

TheRobatron

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
551
Where did you find the driver? I couldn't see it on the ATI site.

BTW I'm going away for the weekend, so won't be able to see if it works until Tuesday.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,410
You have to check the driver archive. I will see if I can link to that page.
 

TheRobatron

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
551
Thanks very much for your reply - I've started to download the driver. Sorry I didn't reply earlier - I didn't seem to get an email notification.

EDIT: The driver didn't work, so I'm downloading the CCC to see if that works. I managed to find the original CD with the drivers on, but it got stuck installing it. I've heard that other people have had problems with their graphics drivers after a Windows update.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,410
Yes, there is a MS update that installs a newer driver for ati cards.

Have you uninstalled the MS update then attempted the driver install?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top