1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XP dual boot

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kc7jnu, Apr 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kc7jnu

kc7jnu Thread Starter

I had a computer with XP Home on it and I tried to upgrade to XP Pro. The XP Pro disk was not an upgrade disk and so now I have a dual boot.

I would like to get rid of the HOME portion of the dual boot. Can this be done?

Also, how does one go about reformatting in NTSF?? I am a Newbie at XP.

2. LONGHAIR

LONGHAIR

This "Second copy" of WinXP is on the same partition? or did it take over another existing partition?

3. kc7jnu

kc7jnu Thread Starter

The XP Pro is in - what was - the Recovery Partition D:\ - XP Home is on C:\

4. LONGHAIR

LONGHAIR

Recovery Partition? ..........Is this a name brand computer like Compaq, Dell, Etc?

5. kc7jnu

kc7jnu Thread Starter

The computer is a Compaq and did not come with disks - instead it came with XP Home installed and a "Recovery Partition" and I had to make my own Recovery disks - The recovery partition is 4 megs - almost.

6. LONGHAIR

LONGHAIR

Is your original (home) version still bootable? If so you are probably going to have to back-up your data to CDs or something and start fresh. You can't even use the recovery partition, it has been overwritten.

7. bsop

bsop

Hi,
    To reformat a NTFS partition, you must have the XP Installation CD.
    You must then select the partition you want to install.
    An option to modify the partition will be available and you can then go in and
    delete the partition. Once the partition is deleted, you will have to creat the partition.
    Once the partition has been created, you will then have an option to format the partition.

Or, you can use a Windows 98 disk. Boot into dos.