1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XP firewall

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Dingus, Sep 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dingus

    Dingus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,149
    Hi there,
    I'm on another thred dealing with a network problem which has highlighted that my XP has a firewall active.
    If this is true can anyone tell me how switch this option off?

    :D
     
  2. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
  3. Miz

    Miz

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,146
    Open Control Panel>Network Connections, right click on the connection you're using, go to Properties (or click on "Change settings for this connection" in the left-hand pane). On the Advanced tab, uncheck the box there, click OK to save the change.
     
  4. Dingus

    Dingus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,149
    Thanks folks, you confirmed I'm doing it correctly. :D
     
  5. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/166338

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice