xp freeze

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rleescott

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2003
Messages
4
I have a Dell laptop, inspiron 8200, P4, 1.6 G, 256ram, ie6. Periodically the screen goes black and nothing works. The power button is frozen in the "on" position and cannot be used to turn off the machine. I have no choice but to remove the battery. Once reinserted, the unit reboots and works until the next freeze. Help!
 

rleescott

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2003
Messages
4
Is there a moderator responsible for viewing and replying?? Plenty of views but no help in 4days does not make for a successful forum.
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
i rarely reply to problems with laptops because i steer clear of them because of my lack of knowledge of them.
i take it the battery power pack is what you are refering to,have you a ac power connector you can connect with to see if it is the battery pack that is the problem.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2003
Messages
120
Question: Does the screen go black while you're working on the laptop, or is it after periods of inactivity?

If this occurs after an inactive period, you may want to take a close look at your power options. It sounds like your system might have trouble coming out of Standby mode, which isn't unheard-of for laptops. I'm not very well-versed in Dell laptops, but I've worked on several Thinkpads & Armadas that never behaved correctly with regards to Standby mode.
 

rleescott

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 10, 2003
Messages
4
The screen freezes, either black, or in whatever window I'm working, while I am actively using the laptop. It has never happened during inactivity.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2003
Messages
120
A couple things you could try (if you haven't already):
(1) Windows Update (including SP if not already installed)
(2) change power options to "always on", and disable/uninstall any scheduled/automated apps that may be running (check task tray, StartUp folder, anti-virus app, back-ups, system clean-up, etc.)
(3) check for any spyware that may be hidden on your system (Spybot is free and good)

If nothing else, these steps should keep you busy for a while. :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top