XP--[home]-freezing up

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

unstresst

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2003
Messages
772
Browser had froze a couple times, then was running E X T R EEEEMLY slow
......SOLVED...........unpluged modem power cord for 20 seconds
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Messages
188
Hmm... how much memory do you have on your system? Thats most likely the problem. If you have 128 MB or less, that is the problem. Consider buying more or downloading Free RAM XP Pro:

http://download.com.com/3000-2086-10219611.html?tag=lst-0-3

To find out how much memory you have, right click my computer, and click properties. Look towards the bottom of the screen... it should be there.
 
Joined
May 9, 2003
Messages
106
128 mb of ram wouldnt necessarily do that to xp. If there are severe problems other than being really slow, its not the amount of ram then. My brother (who i have urged to get some more ram) is running xp on a 1.4 ghz athlon with 128 mb of ram. Its like a turtle is reading the individual bits, but it still works and can open more than one window. Perhaps the ram sticks are faulty? If you have a custom built computer, thats quite possible. try downloading memtest86=> http://www.memtest86.com/ and running a few of the tests. Nothing else i can think of now that my mind is focused on ram lol.

Hope that helps.
 

unstresst

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2003
Messages
772
..that freeze-up prob.......seems to be nonexistant now.
....odd...........it happened twice and not again since.
..HOWEVER>>>> using DSL...and now our page loads are twice as slow as dial-up since this freeze prob started.
....DISK USAGE: used: 5.27 GB...free 50.62 GB
...I'm stil interested in hearing any other ideas folks might have---{might reoccure}
 
Joined
May 9, 2003
Messages
106
This might be a case of your computer not being able to keep up with the internet connection....while it rarely happens, with 128 mb of ram, its very possible. I sincerely recommend upgrading.

And the modem power cycling deal sometimes does the trick if there is a problem with your connection (unplugging...plugging then restarting).
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
2,326
I seem to be saying this a lot lately but here I go again.
Just a thought,but have you thought about disabling startup items that you don't need to start on bootup.Having too much stuff in there can slow your system down dramatically.The only things I allow to start on bootup on my machine are my anti virus and firewall.

Also go here:http://www.blackviper.com/WinXP/servicecfg.htm
and check out the service configurations,there are a lot of services that you can disable to help your system run better and faster
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
3
Before you go lobbing memory sticks at the problem, use your task manager to see how much memory is occupied. Does your drive page wildly during the "freeze?" If so, look during that period in your task manager (run taskman.exe) and see if you are actually out of physical memory. On the performance tab you see your CPU usage and memory. Below, total, available, and system cache. If the available physical memory is very low, then yes it's likely memory related. If you then look at your processes tab, you can sort by clicking on the CPU or mem usage columns and see what process is using the most of each. System idle process always takes the highest cpu time, and (likely) the lowest mem usage. But the fact that you fixed this once by unplugging your modem suggests to me that your network interface was actually the problem. However, without detailed information more it is not possible to say. If the problem is intermittent, I would discount available memory as a cause. If your memory was insufficient, you would have problems all the time.
unstresst said:
..that freeze-up prob.......seems to be nonexistant now.
....odd...........it happened twice and not again since.
..HOWEVER>>>> using DSL...and now our page loads are twice as slow as dial-up since this freeze prob started.
....DISK USAGE: used: 5.27 GB...free 50.62 GB
...I'm stil interested in hearing any other ideas folks might have---{might reoccure}
 
Joined
May 9, 2003
Messages
106
He said he only had 128 mb of ram...regardless of how fast ur processor is, this is simply not enough ram for windows xp. If the browser is going slow, not enough ram is a likely cause.

If you are experiencing intermittent connection problems, it could be your NIC. But if in general it is slow, then id say ram is probably a major cause (it even lags on some peoples computers who have 256 mb of ram with xp)

but anyways..thats just my thoughts...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top