1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XP--[home]-freezing up

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by unstresst, Apr 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. unstresst

    unstresst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    772
    Browser had froze a couple times, then was running E X T R EEEEMLY slow
    ......SOLVED...........unpluged modem power cord for 20 seconds
     
  2. Mr. PC Doc

    Mr. PC Doc

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    188
    Hmm... how much memory do you have on your system? Thats most likely the problem. If you have 128 MB or less, that is the problem. Consider buying more or downloading Free RAM XP Pro:

    http://download.com.com/3000-2086-10219611.html?tag=lst-0-3

    To find out how much memory you have, right click my computer, and click properties. Look towards the bottom of the screen... it should be there.
     
  3. Boo_Compaq

    Boo_Compaq

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    128 mb of ram wouldnt necessarily do that to xp. If there are severe problems other than being really slow, its not the amount of ram then. My brother (who i have urged to get some more ram) is running xp on a 1.4 ghz athlon with 128 mb of ram. Its like a turtle is reading the individual bits, but it still works and can open more than one window. Perhaps the ram sticks are faulty? If you have a custom built computer, thats quite possible. try downloading memtest86=> http://www.memtest86.com/ and running a few of the tests. Nothing else i can think of now that my mind is focused on ram lol.

    Hope that helps.
     
  4. unstresst

    unstresst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    772
    ..that freeze-up prob.......seems to be nonexistant now.
    ....odd...........it happened twice and not again since.
    ..HOWEVER>>>> using DSL...and now our page loads are twice as slow as dial-up since this freeze prob started.
    ....DISK USAGE: used: 5.27 GB...free 50.62 GB
    ...I'm stil interested in hearing any other ideas folks might have---{might reoccure}
     
  5. Boo_Compaq

    Boo_Compaq

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    This might be a case of your computer not being able to keep up with the internet connection....while it rarely happens, with 128 mb of ram, its very possible. I sincerely recommend upgrading.

    And the modem power cycling deal sometimes does the trick if there is a problem with your connection (unplugging...plugging then restarting).
     
  6. Ronnie151

    Ronnie151

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    273
    adding another 128 stick of ram should double your speed
     
  7. unstresst

    unstresst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    772
    ...............t H A N X F O L K S
     
  8. rude

    rude

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,326
    I seem to be saying this a lot lately but here I go again.
    Just a thought,but have you thought about disabling startup items that you don't need to start on bootup.Having too much stuff in there can slow your system down dramatically.The only things I allow to start on bootup on my machine are my anti virus and firewall.

    Also go here:http://www.blackviper.com/WinXP/servicecfg.htm
    and check out the service configurations,there are a lot of services that you can disable to help your system run better and faster
     
  9. maxgrant

    maxgrant

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Before you go lobbing memory sticks at the problem, use your task manager to see how much memory is occupied. Does your drive page wildly during the "freeze?" If so, look during that period in your task manager (run taskman.exe) and see if you are actually out of physical memory. On the performance tab you see your CPU usage and memory. Below, total, available, and system cache. If the available physical memory is very low, then yes it's likely memory related. If you then look at your processes tab, you can sort by clicking on the CPU or mem usage columns and see what process is using the most of each. System idle process always takes the highest cpu time, and (likely) the lowest mem usage. But the fact that you fixed this once by unplugging your modem suggests to me that your network interface was actually the problem. However, without detailed information more it is not possible to say. If the problem is intermittent, I would discount available memory as a cause. If your memory was insufficient, you would have problems all the time.
     
  10. Boo_Compaq

    Boo_Compaq

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    He said he only had 128 mb of ram...regardless of how fast ur processor is, this is simply not enough ram for windows xp. If the browser is going slow, not enough ram is a likely cause.

    If you are experiencing intermittent connection problems, it could be your NIC. But if in general it is slow, then id say ram is probably a major cause (it even lags on some peoples computers who have 256 mb of ram with xp)

    but anyways..thats just my thoughts...
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - [home] freezing
  1. 8biosdrive
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    578
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218020

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice