XP Home not talking to Xp Pro

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

yugbug9

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 4, 2007
Messages
19
hi, im new hear so pleas don't get angry if i stuff up.

i have just recently got my computer that has XP Pro in my room. i connected it up to my D-link DG834 v3 Router which has our family computer connected to it which runs XP Home. the only problem is that i can not access the files from each computer. I tried the network setup wizard and ran it on both pc's, i have enabled simple file sharing of XP Pro and changed the sharing and security model on the xp pro from "guest only" to "Classic". All firewalls on both pc's have been disabled only leaving the Routers firewall. The other thing i found interesting was that on the xp pro computer it can see itself in network conections but on the XP home it cannot see it self. when i go threw the Remote Desktop Connection on the xp home it said "cannot conect to other computer due to Account restrictions". but when i do this on the xp pro pc is said: "this computer can not connect to this remote pc." I am really Confused! :confused: i am sorry if did not explain this well.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Messages
273
Are you able to see the Pro machine from the Home machine when you go to the Network?

Try this on the Pro machine. Start> Run> CMD> Type 'net user guest' It should say "Account Active: Yes(or No)"

If it is not active you can try activating it like this from the same Command Prompt:
net user guest /active: Yes

yugbug9 said:
hi, im new hear so pleas don't get angry if i stuff up.

i have just recently got my computer that has XP Pro in my room. i connected it up to my D-link DG834 v3 Router which has our family computer connected to it which runs XP Home. the only problem is that i can not access the files from each computer. I tried the network setup wizard and ran it on both pc's, i have enabled simple file sharing of XP Pro and changed the sharing and security model on the xp pro from "guest only" to "Classic". All firewalls on both pc's have been disabled only leaving the Routers firewall. The other thing i found interesting was that on the xp pro computer it can see itself in network conections but on the XP home it cannot see it self. when i go threw the Remote Desktop Connection on the xp home it said "cannot conect to other computer due to Account restrictions". but when i do this on the xp pro pc is said: "this computer can not connect to this remote pc." I am really Confused! :confused: i am sorry if did not explain this well.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Try this on both machines.

Create a file in notepad named FIXANON.REG with the following contents:

------------------- Use text after this line -------------------
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Lsa]
"restrictanonymous"=dword:00000000
------------------- Use text before this line -----------------

Double click on the file and say Yes to the merge into registry question.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
At least one problem is "easy": you cannot Remote Desktop to a XP Home machine.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
From the first post - "The other thing i found interesting was that on the xp pro computer it can see itself in network conections but on the XP home it cannot see it self." - is seems like browsing is a problem. Is that correct? If so, and it would be good to get that resolved first.

So getting back to basics, the basics for troubleshooting are:

1. Make sure you have the same IP scheme (e.g. 192.168.0.x).

2. Make sure you have the same Subnet Mask, Gateway, and DNS IP addresses.

3. Make sure you can ping the other computer's IP address. If this fails, just for testing, make sure you turn off XP's as well as any other firewall.

4. Make sure you can ping the other computers by name.

5. Make sure you have the same workgroup name (watch for trailing spaces)

6. For troubleshooting purposes, turn off XP's and completely uninstall any other firewall software. You can always add more complexity after you get it working.

7. With XP, make sure you have the same username and password as the person logging onto the other computers. The default setting for XP Pro is to require a password for network access.

8. More details about how to network XP can be found at:
http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networking/xp_network.htm

The default NetBIOS setting usually works. If browsing is a problem, you might set it to Enabled. But do not Disable it.

Also see:
http://www.onecomputerguy.com/windowsxp_tips.htm#access_denied
 

yugbug9

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 4, 2007
Messages
19
I have tryed everything that was posted thanks for that. but now on the xp Pro when i go win> run> \\###.###.###.### it comes up with an error message 'No network provider accepted the given network path' i still can not see the other computer from the xp home or pro. and XP Home still can not see itself.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
Let's go back to basics. Please post the following for each PC.

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

yugbug9

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 4, 2007
Messages
19
command:
XP PRO:
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Guy Jackson>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Guy
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Compatable Fast Ethernet Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-09-01-F5-33
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.#.##
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.#.##
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : ###.##.###.##
198.142.#.##
192.168.#.#

XP HOME:
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Kenny Family>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : New
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-92-38-E0-E4
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.#.#
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.#.#
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 211.29.132.12
198.142.#.##
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled



And it turns out i can only ping with the Ip address and not by name.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
That's why I posted those tests. Apparently they didn't make it very far.

It was also posted "The default NetBIOS setting usually works. If browsing is a problem, you might set it to Enabled. But do not Disable it."

Yet at least one computer shows "NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled"
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
And if the ipconfig /all's contain any other evidence of problems we sure can't tell because of all the #s. If those are the true results of ipconfig, you have some serious problems with both computers. Why didn't you also cover up the "NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled" evidence for the XP Home PC? :(
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
For example, why the differing DNS entries.

Since DHCP is disabled, you should at least have the same DNS servers. This can easily lead to the problem you are experiencing where you can ping by IP but not by Name.
 

yugbug9

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 4, 2007
Messages
19
Yeh the DNS servers are the same on both computers. i added the #'s because i was told to by my brother. we thought if i did not do this some one could of accessed my computer. should i take out all of the #'s
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top