1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XP Installation, Missing files, possible drive issue?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by iddork, Sep 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. iddork

    iddork Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    I first posted this in the Windows XP forum before realizing that it may be more appropriate for this forum....

    I have been drafted to trouble shoot my in-laws computer. The system is an AMD 700 Mhz (K62 i think) with a 40 gig HD, 256 mb ram. They started experiencing problems after loading SP2. The system eventually would not get past the splash screen when it started up. After several attempts at loading safe mode I decided to cut our losses and do a clean install. Curiously, the system they purchased with XP was formatted for FAT32 and not NTFS. It appears the box was built pre-XP availability and was upgraded when it was sold in January '02.

    The problem now is that after formatting the HD it has problems copying files over from the Windows XP disk. No apparent physical problems with the disk but I went and grabbed an extra XP disk from home. Same problem. So now the OS will not install.

    My guess is that there's either a problem with the CD-rom, the HD or the IDE controller. Does anybody know what would be the most likely issue? I may be able to find a CD rom to swap in and try.. not so sure about the HD. CHKDSK was run and appeared fine. Any ideas to help me get back on my in-laws good side would be appreciated!

    IdC
     
  2. Tumbleweed36

    Tumbleweed36

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    736
    Hi,

    Have you entered the BIOS setup menu and set the order of boot to CDRom first, floppy second, and hard drive third? If you have, then it should boot to the OS disk when you boot up the computer.
     
  3. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    "The problem now is that after formatting the HD it has problems copying files over from the Windows XP disk."

    So what exactly is happening??
     
  4. iddork

    iddork Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Well to answer the first question, it can and will boot from the CD-ROM on startup. After creating a partition it starts to copy files over from the XP CD. It then has problems locating the files and it will say Installer can not find *.DLL or SHELL32.SYS, you can skip past the files and it just comes up with more and more. It seems to have a problem reading the CD, tried another XP CD, same problem... logical next step for me is to swap out the drive, but until I get an extra one to swap with I was seeking input.

    IdC
     
  5. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Howdy folks...

    iddork...

    Hmmm...before you swap out the drive, check the memory...

    You see...

    With Windows ( from W98 up to Xp ) the install sets up a RAM drive ( a drive setup in memory ), it copies install files to the RAM drive for faster installation...

    If the memory is bad you will get these type of errors...

    What I would suggest is to download some memory testers ( note: sometimes it takes, depending on the memory size a long while to test )...

    Some I use...

    http://www.memtest86.com/

    http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp
     
  6. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    I just posted with the same suggestion about memory. I wonder where it went. I hope it's not posted in someone else's problem :)

    If no change with Different CD drive and memory OK see if install with FAT32 file system works.
     
  7. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    norton850

    you probably posted in the thread I just closed as a duplicate...

    continue in this one

    buck
     
  8. iddork

    iddork Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you both for mentioning the memory. I ran memtest86 on their PC and it came back with thousands of errors. I promptly went to my local retailer and purchased the replacement RAM, swapped it in and they are now up and running!

    Mike
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/275190

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice