xp keeps crashing#[email protected]%& and i get an error report when starting

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

hunted66

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
3
Help!!! this is driving me nuts
I keep getting complete crash and it doesn't seem to matter what I am doing at at the time. Also upon start up 90% of the time I get a system error report

BCCode : c2 BCP1 : 00000007 BCP2 : 00000CD4 BCP3 : 0064006E
BCP4 : E24CB830 OSVer : 5_1_2600 SP : 0_0 Product : 256_1



Any suggestions besides reformatting. I believe it all started a while ago and I don't think the dates in System Restore will help me.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2003
Messages
4,823
Welcome to TSG, hunted 66

Would you be so kind as to post a Hijack this log

Go to this page, and download 'Hijack This!'.

Unzip it, launch Hijack This, then press Scan, and press Save Log

This will generate a text file that will list all running processes, all applications that are loaded automatically when you start Windows, and more. This may help us to identify if there are any erroneous software that may cause conflicts such as spyware etc

open that file
Go to Edit | Select all
Now click Edit | copy to copy it
Come back to TSG, Right Click and paste its contents here

Allow a bit of time for someone to analyse the log, leaving things alone until such time someone advises you what to do next. A lot of what you see SHOULD be there, but there may well be something that shouldn't
 

hunted66

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
3
Hiya

just had another system dump.. the error code seems diff than last i thru in.

BCCode : 50 BCP1 : A04D068C BCP2 : 00000000 BCP3 : 805621DF
BCP4 : 00000000 OSVer : 5_1_2600 SP : 0_0 Product : 256_1

The results of the Hijack test are


Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
Scan saved at 6:13:08 PM, on 9/16/2003
Platform: Windows XP (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\NavNT\defwatch.exe
C:\Program Files\NavNT\rtvscan.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\MsgSys.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ntvdm.exe
C:\Program Files\NavNT\vptray.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\qttask.exe
C:\Program Files\BroadJump\Client Foundation\CFD.exe
C:\OPLIMIT\ocrawr32.exe
C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\Documents and Settings\brad\Local Settings\Temp\Temporary Directory 1 for hijackthis.zip\HijackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
F1 - win.ini: load=C:\OPLIMIT\ocraware.exe
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [vptray] C:\Program Files\NavNT\vptray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] C:\WINDOWS\System32\qttask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BJCFD] C:\Program Files\BroadJump\Client Foundation\CFD.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Yahoo! Pager] C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\ypager.exe -quiet
O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst0309.cab
O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/d052c1d7d32ead/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
O16 - DPF: {F58E1CEF-A068-4C15-BA5E-587CAF3EE8C6} (MSN Chat Control 4.5) - http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat45.cab



Thanks for your help
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
You have a program running on sartup which can cause conflicts and can lead to errors. F1 - win.ini: load=C:\OPLIMIT\ocraware.exe

You can read on it Here and the recommendationa as well..
 

hunted66

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
3
Hi
It hasn't been crashing nearly as much since i tried removing a stick of ram. So maybe it was partially ram. Although i did get that error in my previous post I have not seen it again since.
I did turn off the ocraware in my start up though in msconfig, as that program that came with my scanner has not worked since i converted to XP. Its not currently installed so I just turned ocraware off. I also just use the Xp scan tools. I don't really use it anyways.

I 'll let you know if it reoccurs.
From the Hijack log how did you know it failed. I did not see any failure reports and such.
Is this something that you have run into before??
Thanks for the tips.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
click on the link in my first post and you can read a little on it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top