XP Lan Issues

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

iissmart

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 2003
Messages
215
I recently reformatted my hard drive and installed a fresh copy of XP Pro. Before reformatting, I copied all the files I wanted to keep onto a shared folder on a different computer (also XP Pro) through our LAN. Now, when I try to access the files again through my computer, it says:
Error Message said:
Workgroup is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions.

Windows cannot find the network path. Verify that the network path is correct and the destination computer is not busy or turned off. If Windows still cannot find the network path, contact your network administrator.
All I am doing is double clicking on My Network Places, then clicking View Workgroup Computers (on the left side).
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
229
turn off the XP firewall, and do you have any other firewall programs installed?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
1,281
Do both computers have the same workgroup name ?

To Check the workgroup name:

Click Start/My Computer/View System Information, then select the Tab called 'Computer name' and check the workgroups are the same.
To change it, select the Change button.
 

iissmart

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 2003
Messages
215
Both computers use the same workgroup - 'WORKGROUP'

I have the XP firewall disabled on both computers (both running SP2), and both computers are running Kerio Personal Firewall 4.
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
229
turn off Kerio, and both computers have different names? if so, turn off the firewall, and try searching for the other computer.
also, connected through hub? router? direct?
 

iissmart

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 2003
Messages
215
Both computers have different names.

They are connected through a Linksys router (wireless G)...brand new, worked when it was set up like:
Windows 2000 (running Kerio) <---> Windows XP (running Kerio)

I'll try turning off the firewall on both computers and will edit this post with the results.

[EDIT] OK, I turned off the firewall on the troubled computer (mine), and I still got the error message. I tried on the other computer, and with Kerio running I was able to browse to my computer, and access the shared folder...

[EDIT 2] I can ping the other computer with my computer, so mine can at least see it, but not browse to it...
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
229
if it dosent work, try pinging each other computers with ip address...that will at least tell you if they see each other
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
229
ok, so your computer, with NO firewall running gives a error when the OTHER computer tries to browse it?

And YOU computer can browse the OTHER computer fine through the network WITH kerio running?
 

iissmart

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 2003
Messages
215
Allow me to clarify:

Computer A: cannot access the LAN, gets the error message
Computer B: the computer I am trying to browse to, connected to the LAN

Computer A, with no firewall, still gets the error message, as normal.
Computer B, WITH the firewall running, is able to browse to computer A and view shared folders/files.
 

iissmart

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 2003
Messages
215
Both firewalls are off on both computers.

Comp A still cannot access the LAN at all
Comp B still can access comp A
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
229
i got 2 more ideas..then i am out...1) re-install tcp/ip, and 2, try to boot in safe mode WITH networking on computer A and see if it works, if not, maybe someone wiser then me has some more ideas....but in my experience..its almost allways the firewall :(
 

iissmart

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 2003
Messages
215
Booted into safe mode with networking...went to My Network Places...the window was completely blank, not even a menu on the left side...

I don't feel like messing around with tcp/ip at the moment, since it basically removed my 98SE computer completely from the LAN, with no point of return...
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
10,254
Often, running the "Set up a Home or Small Office NEtwork" wizard from My Network Places will allow the pc's to network.

wrs
 

iissmart

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 2003
Messages
215
OK, I set it up by clicking:
Next->Next->Other->First Option->Next->Type 'workgroup', Next->Turn On->Click Yes->Next->Just Finish->Finish.

Still cannot access the LAN at all...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top