1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XP Pro 64 bit MBR messed up

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by NadeMaster, Apr 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. NadeMaster

    NadeMaster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Okay, i recently partitoned my computer again and added a new partition for pro. I used acronis disk director and i did have to mess with it so i can understand y the mbr isnt working. HOW CAN I FIX IT SO I CAN BOOT UP TO ALL OF MY PARTITIONS? I try added things manually to it but it would but it wouldnt work. And by manually i mean using the repair on the windows disc and also going to the properties of my computer-->Advanced-->Startup and recovery and tried adding more with the notepad option. Can some one please help me.

    PS. I can still see 3 hdds in My Computer which are the 3 partitions from my 500gb hdd. Thanks
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    A boot loader is pretty easy. Try GAG. It can be installed to the HDD and boot up to 9 operating systems. It's very flexible so any changes you make later are easily accomodated. It also has a timer that can be set that will then boot the chosen default OS.
     
  3. NadeMaster

    NadeMaster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks for the information :D
     
  4. NadeMaster

    NadeMaster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    issue, i am running a 64 bit operating system and it wont run. Any other ideas?
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Please describe your system, what operating systems, where your partitions are and how configured, and so on.

    If you are using Windows OS's, the last installation should have configured the MBR. Is Linux involved?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/702664

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice