1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XP pro external hard drive type?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jct883, Jan 10, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jct883

    jct883 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    I am using an older computer with an I D E hard drive . What type external adapter should I use for a external hard drive. I see SATA units listed but being a newbie I'm not sure what to use. I am guessing the newer computers use SATA.
     
  2. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,001
    First Name:
    Jay
    See Here for IDE ..
    And Here for IDE or SATA

    I might get one like This so I could adapt to either.

    If you're just looking for an adapter and not an enclosure ... See Here
    I have one of These and it's come in handy on occasions .. When it's not been loaned out :D
     
  3. jct883

    jct883 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    21
  4. jct883

    jct883 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Thank you for your help. This is what I'm talking about. Don't know much about them. Someone said it was a good way to backup my computer.
     
  5. jct883

    jct883 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    21
  6. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,001
    First Name:
    Jay
    That one's for a SATA HDD .. not IDE.
    Using Imaging .. You can backup to any External HDD.
    Imagining can backup the operating system.

    Using a IDE external HDD (or adapter) .. You could have a functional backup hard drive in the external enclosure .. (cloned)

    What's the Make n Model of your computer ???
    And how many gigs occupied is your C drive ???
     
  7. jct883

    jct883 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    c: (NTFS on drive 0) 40.01 GB 19.05 GB freeCompaq Evo D510 SFF
    Hope this is what you ask for.
     
  8. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,001
    First Name:
    Jay
    You can Copy n Paste (or Drag n Drop) your Data to an any external HDD for backup.
    You can also Image the operating system to a data file in any external HDD.
    Then this image Data file can be used to rewrite your HDD, or build a new one.

    I'd suggest to get an external HDD, and Image your system ... Then add any new Data backups.
    Then you might want to get a new IDE HDD .. and recover it from the Image data file.

    You'll never know or understand the entire backup/recovery procedure until you've used an Image to recover a HDD or Build a new one.
    An Image Data file is compressed and will be about 60-70% of the occupied space in the HDD or partition that you're imaging.
    looks like about 14gig in your case.

    I use Acronis .. and have imaged and recovered a spare SSD HDD today.
    I wasn't sure if this HDD had been attacked or not.
     
  9. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,380
    First Name:
    David
    Any USB external drive will work as long as you have USB interface.

    I have found that the enclosures plus the drives are more expensive than the ones already built.
    I now have about 6 different sizes ranging from 500 Megs to 2 TB's.
     
  10. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,001
    First Name:
    Jay
    This is true, But you get what you pay for.
    An enclosure plus a HDD of your choice gives you the chance to get a good HDD and replace it if needed.
    You don't know what comes in pre-assembled external HDDs and you can't get to the HDD without voiding the warranty.

    If the enclosure goes bad, you can change the enclosure and not loose all the data in the HDD.
    I always get the WD Black series HDDs with a 5 year warranty
    Just yesterday, I had to send a HDD back for replacement when a sector went bad after a little over 4 years.
    Not sure if you can buy pre-assembled external HDDs with a 5 year warranty.

    Any Data you don’t care about is data you only have one copy of.
    I always get (build) twins.
     
  11. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    Build an external yourself, it only takes about 10-20 minutes and you won't get stuck with any manufacturer proprietary junk like you sometimes get with factory built units. Normally, all it takes is a screwdriver to assemble an external.

    I've been using Acronis for years and in my opinion it is the best imaging software on the market.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1084531

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice