XP pro external hard drive type?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jct883

I am using an older computer with an I D E hard drive . What type external adapter should I use for a external hard drive. I see SATA units listed but being a newbie I'm not sure what to use. I am guessing the newer computers use SATA.

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
See Here for IDE ..
And Here for IDE or SATA

I might get one like This so I could adapt to either.

If you're just looking for an adapter and not an enclosure ... See Here
I have one of These and it's come in handy on occasions .. When it's not been loaned out :D

jct883

Thank you for your help. This is what I'm talking about. Don't know much about them. Someone said it was a good way to backup my computer.

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
That one's for a SATA HDD .. not IDE.
Using Imaging .. You can backup to any External HDD.
Imagining can backup the operating system.

Using a IDE external HDD (or adapter) .. You could have a functional backup hard drive in the external enclosure .. (cloned)

What's the Make n Model of your computer ???
And how many gigs occupied is your C drive ???

jct883

c: (NTFS on drive 0) 40.01 GB 19.05 GB freeCompaq Evo D510 SFF
Hope this is what you ask for.

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
You can Copy n Paste (or Drag n Drop) your Data to an any external HDD for backup.
You can also Image the operating system to a data file in any external HDD.
Then this image Data file can be used to rewrite your HDD, or build a new one.

I'd suggest to get an external HDD, and Image your system ... Then add any new Data backups.
Then you might want to get a new IDE HDD .. and recover it from the Image data file.