XP Pro sometimes unbootable, sometimes extremely slow

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

deuce

Thread Starter
Joined
May 26, 2001
Messages
7,530
This might be complicated, so don't hesitate to ask me to clear anything up.


Not too long ago I finally migrated from 2k Pro to XP Pro. I'm slowing tweaking and moving files as I have the time. Everything was running great until I moved some media files over. I have 2 HDs, and 2 partitions on my main HD. The 2nd hd is still setup for 2k, which I'm running right now, as my XP is currently unbootable. The first HD has a 20 GB partition as the main partition and only has program and OS files. The second partition is 90-some GB and is for data. The second HD, once everything is transfered will be wiped and used as a clone and disconnected unless being "cloned" so I have a major overhaul backup.........until I actually need to use it for data. (it's 100 GB) Right now, it is just temporarily storing my old data from 2k. I take frequent backup images of my main (20 GB) partition, but I fear that my most recent image (2 weeks or so) won't do me any good because of this specific problem.


Anyway, the other day I was transfering some media over to my main HD (9x Gb partition). About 60 GB of music, and 20 GB of video. Eventually, I got an error saying (I don't remember exactly, but this is what I think it said) that a certain file couldn't be found. (The file was a video file--an episode of Sienfeld) From here on, everything started running very slowly. Applications took forever, IE would take 45 sec to load. Webpages over my T3 connection take a good 15-20 sec to load. XP would take a good 5 minutes to boot. (if it boots) It randomly decides to boot or not. Sometimes it does a disk check on both discs, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes it refuses to boot, giving me the screen where I can choice to try re-booting normally, in safe-mode, pick an existing known good configuration, and continutes in this cycle of not booting, or actually boots. Sometimes it just boots normally, but just extremely slow. When it does boot effectively, it locks up when the screen saver comes on (which is just a black screen) and the tool bar disappears, leaving my wallpaper, and I believe desktop icons as well (not sure about the icons). My only choice is to hit reset, and hope to boots.

Now, it refuses to POST with the XP HD connected in the system. If the XP HD is the master, it flashes the XP boot screen, then goes to disc check, does a disc check on F: successfully, then tries C: and when it finishes C: it hangs and stops booting and I need to reset. If I skip the disc check, or either of the disc checks, it hangs and doesn't boot. If I make the 2k HD the master, it does the memory check, then displays the primary master as"primary master: WD1000GB" and displays the primary slave as "primary slave: " and hangs and stops booting. The only way to boot 2k at all is to completely disconnect the HD with XP on it.

My back up images are on the data partition of my main (XP) HD so they are un accessable. I have my very original image on a CD, but that is just the XP install, so I really really don't want to only be able to use that one. I am a full-time student so going back to that one is much better than completely re-installing, but still not a good option for me as I don't have the time to basically start over.


What the hell is going on here and does anybody have ANY advice of any kind? Please don't hesitate to ask my to clarify if anything is unclear. I have no access to this HD anymore. I NEED THIS DISC BACK. Thanks, especially to anybody that read all of this.


P.S. I haven't tried setting the drives up on seperate channels. So far, I've only thought of using the primary channel until just now.



Windows XP Pro (120 GB HD; C: =20 GB partition, D: =9x GB partition)
Windows 2K Pro (100 GB HD; F: 93 GB partition)
1.4 Ghz P4
640 MB RD-Ram
MSI MS-6339 (Intel 850GB chipset)
120 GB MDT HD
100 GB WD HD
Norton Ghost 2003


TDK cd-burner = E:
Lite-on DVD-rom = G:
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
d/l and run the h/d diogostic program from the manufacturer,if the drive is ok i would try a repair on xp
 

deuce

Thread Starter
Joined
May 26, 2001
Messages
7,530
The HD is an OEM, made by Magnetic Data Technologies. I haven't found any kind of utilities out there for it. Are there any 3rd party utilities that would work?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2003
Messages
468
You have a T3 connection in collegeville? WOW! You over at St.J.'s? - I'm just east in St. Cloud at work. Looking out on a cold and cloudy day.

anyway, I know thats off the topic.

I would recheck your drive jumpers, or better yet disconnect the old drive just leaving the primary XP drive. Incorrect jumper settings can cause all kinds of crazy things.

Also, are you using any kind of IDE switch (like a TRIOS). I've had problems with WD drives and Trios before.

Steve
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Messages
6
The screen saver locking up the system makes me think of a video card driver problem.

Are there different drivers for Win2K and XP? Try setting your video to generic 16 colors and see if everything works normally. If it does the video driver may be part or all of the problem. If it still messes up then the problem is not the video card.

I believe from what you have said that the system can't be sure which system you want to boot, 2K or XP. XP hides lots of system files and I assume 2K does also. I have 2 drives in my system, one of which had XP on it previously. I formatted the drive and installed it back in my system and XP still comes up and asks me which drive I want to boot from even though the operating system is installed on only the master drive now, go figure. It boots fine, but I have to tell it every time which drive to boot from.

Double check your jumpers on your hard drives. If they are ok you could try the following:

For about 30 bucks you can get an external hard drive USB or firewire enclosure. Take your 2K drive out of your machine. Boot with XP, plug in the external drive and move your files. Then you could format the external drive. Doing it this way might work around your boot problem.

As for your Seinfeld file problem: Are the file size limits in XP as big as in 2K. I believe XP tops out at about a 4 gig file size, could your file be bigger than that?

Good luck.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2003
Messages
468
caveman it sounds like you would need to tweak your boot.ini file. and your right it is hidden but can be accessed by going into the system applet in control panel and choose the startup and recovery tab. There you can edit the boot.ini file.

Steve
 

deuce

Thread Starter
Joined
May 26, 2001
Messages
7,530
Originally posted by steve65:
You have a T3 connection in collegeville? WOW! You over at St.J.'s? - I'm just east in St. Cloud at work. Looking out on a cold and cloudy day.

anyway, I know thats off the topic.

I would recheck your drive jumpers, or better yet disconnect the old drive just leaving the primary XP drive. Incorrect jumper settings can cause all kinds of crazy things.

Also, are you using any kind of IDE switch (like a TRIOS). I've had problems with WD drives and Trios before.

Steve
Where do you work?....just curious.....and you are correct, I am a Johnnie. ;) Small world.


It wouldn't be jumper settings. Both drives are on CS, and are on the proper position of the cable at all times. If I take out the 2K drive and try to boot only the XP drive, I get the same thing I get when trying to boot the XP drive--it tries to run check disc, and no matter what hangs after the check disc (even if I skip the check disc, it hangs)


What exactly is an IDE switch? Something that allows for hotswapping? Whatever an IDE switch is, I'm not using one.
 

deuce

Thread Starter
Joined
May 26, 2001
Messages
7,530
Originally posted by cavemanmac:
The screen saver locking up the system makes me think of a video card driver problem.

Are there different drivers for Win2K and XP? Try setting your video to generic 16 colors and see if everything works normally. If it does the video driver may be part or all of the problem. If it still messes up then the problem is not the video card.
I wouldn't think it is a video card problem. The computer physically cannot boot when the HD that has XP on it is connected as a slave. If this was a sound card problem, the drive would at least get the chance to boot with it as a slave. However, I can't POST with the drive in. Also, I haven't had any problems with my sound card, in 2k, or in XP before the problem (and there were no driver changes or anything). It was a good idea though. Another note: the fact teh check disc runs leads me to think something is currupt with the HD.
I believe from what you have said that the system can't be sure which system you want to boot, 2K or XP.
Well, it just can't boot period. When the XP HD is connected as master, it starts to boot and runs check disc and then hangs. When it is a slave, it hangs when trying to detect the drive.
For about 30 bucks you can get an external hard drive USB or firewire enclosure. Take your 2K drive out of your machine. Boot with XP, plug in the external drive and move your files. Then you could format the external drive. Doing it this way might work around your boot problem.
The idea of this thing is actually a good idea. I might get one just so I have it around. However, for my problem, it won't help as I can't actually boot, even with the 2K HD disconnected.
As for your Seinfeld file problem: Are the file size limits in XP as big as in 2K. I believe XP tops out at about a 4 gig file size, could your file be bigger than that?
The file is most likely 200 MB at the very most.




Thanks for all the help so far. :)
 

deuce

Thread Starter
Joined
May 26, 2001
Messages
7,530
Originally posted by deuce:
The idea of this thing is actually a good idea. I might get one just so I have it around. However, for my problem, it won't help as I can't actually boot, even with the 2K HD disconnected.
Hmmmmmmmmmmm........................


I just thought of something. Do you think that if I were to boot with the 2k drive, and then hook up the XP HD via this gizmo, that I could access the drive? Right now I can't access it at all. Except maybe in DOS, if the XP HD is the only HD connected and I can get to a DOS prompt before disc check starts. I'll have to try that.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top