1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XP Pro won't show new drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by register54321, Jul 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. register54321

    register54321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    I'm running a Dell 4600 with XP Pro SP2. Just got a Seagate 300gig drive to backup the original Seagate 160. I installed the drivers, installed the drive, and rebooted. However, though Device Manager shows the drive and says it is functioning properly, the drive doesn't show up in My Computer or in Windows Explorer. How do I get the drive to show so I can add files to it?

    Your assistance in helping this newbie is appreciated in advance.

    PS. Don't know if it makes any difference, but Device manager shows both drives as Location: 0 (0)

    Thanx!
     
  2. pugmug

    pugmug Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,857
    How did you jumper the h/d? It should be set to cable select.
     
  3. lehatche

    lehatche

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    668
    register 54321 did you format the new drive?
     
  4. pugmug

    pugmug Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,857
    Drives should be at locations 0/0 and 0/1 if connected off the same controller, jumpered correct and data cable correctly connected.
     
  5. register54321

    register54321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    I didn't jumper the new or old drives (don't know what this means) but the cables are good. I even switched with the old drive and everything boots normally. How do I "jumper" or set so they show 0/0 and 0/1?
     
  6. Tapeuup

    Tapeuup

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,695
  7. register54321

    register54321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Great photo. Very informative, but I've got SATA drives and I don't see any jumper pins on the back. Am I missing something?
     
  8. Tapeuup

    Tapeuup

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,695
  9. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Right click My Computer, choose Manage, Storage, Disk management, and partition and format the drive.
     
  10. register54321

    register54321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Yeah! Success! Many thanx to all for your wisdom!!!
     
  11. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    and still another happy ending!!!
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/481946

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice