XP Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cracker224

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
67
I have a Compaq presario V2000 laptop and today i took it apart to put an extra stick of ram in, i then took out the hard drive to see what it looked like then put it back. i accidentally turned it on when there was no ram in there, it started beeping really loud so i pulled out the cord and it went to stand by, then i turned it off by holding in the power button. (i was picking it up to find screws and my finger slipped.) i put everything exactly the way it was and now whenever i turn it on it screws up.

i can see my profile at the start screen, but when i click on it says

"windows cannot load the users profile but has logged you on with the default profile for the system

DETAIL - insufficient system resources exist to complete the requested service"

then once it gets on it says cannot load all different file paths and it says all the options are security blocked..

I have also tried last known successful boot (same thing) and hard drive self check (which came up as %100 fine)

any help or suggestions?!?

Thanks,
Kieren
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
can you get into the bios / setup as it boots

see how much memory it thinks you have
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
I assume 256MB memeory is all you expect the laptop to have
correct

try booting in safe mode F8 as it boots
then do a system recovery to before you took it apart
 

cracker224

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
67
yeh.. i removed the new 512 mb stick. i cant boot in safe mode, I've tried many times, It loads all the writing and goes to the starting windows screen, it then has a blue screen error (with all the white writing and stuff) and restarts.. ill try to see what it says but its goes very fast
 

cracker224

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
67
wait i got into safe mode with: Directory Services Restore Mode (windows domain controllers only)
 

cracker224

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
67
it says there are no restore points?? i have mine set to create one every second day?? (this is using TuneUp Utilities 2007), i cant access the normal one
 
O

ODIN 0ERO

do you have the WINDOWS INSTALATION CD?

it is possible that your WINDOWS SYSTEM files may be damaged.

it is unwise to turn off your PC with the power button....it can cause damage to your operating system.

you have to turn of your PC using the START---TURN OFF option...if possible of course.

you can try performing a SYSTEM REPAIR that will repair your WINDOWS system files.

your personal files will be intact.

i can post the procedure if you want.
 

cracker224

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
67
ODIN 0ERO said:
do you have the WINDOWS INSTALATION CD?

it is possible that your WINDOWS SYSTEM files may be damaged.

it is unwise to turn off your PC with the power button....it can cause damage to your operating system.

you have to turn of your PC using the START---TURN OFF option...if possible of course.

you can try performing a SYSTEM REPAIR that will repair your WINDOWS system files.

your personal files will be intact.

i can post the procedure if you want.
That would be great and no i dont have the XP cd, my computer came with it installed. Will i need my XP serial?
 
O

ODIN 0ERO

That would be great and no i dont have the XP cd, my computer came with it installed. Will i need my XP serial?
the serial is not required for a repair install.

you will have to redo[download] your windows updates after the repair install.
 
O

ODIN 0ERO

here is the procedure.

XP Repair install

Please read carefully.

1. Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.
2. When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below

This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
Windows XP to run on your computer:

To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.
3. Press Enter to start the Windows Setup.

To setup Windows XP now and Repair Install , press ENTER. do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R", (you Do Not want to load Recovery Console). I repeat, do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R".
4. Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing Windows installations.
5. Select the XP installation you want to repair from the list and press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options, END setup. After the reboot read Warning#2!
6. Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot. Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears. Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your applications and settings will remain intact.
 

cracker224

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
67
i do not have the cd..

but i know where i can get an iso copy from!

thanks for your help and i hope this works.

thanks again,
Kieren
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top