XP problems..not sure what???

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

PattiS

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 8, 2004
Messages
92
I have win xp home, about 2 weeks ago this started. I have no problem connecting to the internet, however after while web pages will not open, and i will just get the page that states page unavailable (as if i was not connected) I will check for mail, and it will tell me i am not connected. Icon shows i am connected. ( i have dial-up). The only way i can reconnect at that time is to shut down computer and restart. I cannot just click icon to disconnect, wont work. Ocassionally along with this i will get the error msg box telling me that US Robotics (modem) has encountered a problem and needs to shut down. Ever since i had this modem installed it has done this occasionally, but now it is really bad. I contacted isp, they had me check settings, told me to contact USRobotics, they are no help. Online chat with hp last night they dont know? Might this be a modem problem, a connection problem, a virus?????? I have current spyware and AV up to date. Any Ideas would be appreciated.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2005
Messages
11
i'm not an expert but i'm sure ur Modem has problem u just simply uninstall the modem manually and restart it, it will install it self coz Xp mostly dont ask for drivers but if its unable to install then manually install it with CD which u got with ur Modem, no need of connection settings it sound like hanging as u said u cannt disconnect it by right clicking on connection Icon so dont worry do these steps n reply us, after all if it still showing the same error then i think u should change ur Modem or some1 help u there better than all.
 

PattiS

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 8, 2004
Messages
92
Thanks for the reply. Problem is i had already uninstalled/reinstalled modem hoping that would correct the problem. I went to windows site and downloaded adaware and just ran it . I have malware and got rid of that. Cannot understand why spybot did not find it??? Anyway problem still exists.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2005
Messages
448
US Robotics is not a terribly reputable brand, and during my techbench times I found modems to be a very failure prone device. Piece those two bits together, and we have one possibility.

The first thing I'd do is try switching your modem to a different PCI slot, and see if the problem persists. If it does, run a full antivirus and adware scan. Then if you're still having connection issues, you may need to try swapping out the modem. If you have any older PCs lying around in the basement with PCI modems still inside, those should work fine.

If the device driver for the modem is constantly reporting errors, for me that sends up a big red flag that points to hardware problem.
 

PattiS

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 8, 2004
Messages
92
I have thought for some time about this modem being junk. Took in computer about 8 months ago for repairs. Cd driver was broke, when i got computer back the modem was missing. They had no idea why it was taken out or what happened to it. ( sure) anyway they figured somehow it ended up in the trash. They bought a new USR and told me i was getting a better deal. Needless to say i wikk never go back thee again, and have no problem bad-mouthing them to anyone i know. Anyway, i will try to put it in different slot and see what happens, unfortuneately i do not have any old computers laying around, but i will give this a try. Thanks.
 

tony007

Banned
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
1,343
Try a system restore back to when the modem was working. When I had dial up thats whaty I used to do when I got page cannot be displayed.
 

PattiS

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 8, 2004
Messages
92
I tried that also, my systems restore no longer works. I have tried 10 different restore points all the way back to Nov. It always says incomplete, no changes have been made to computer, unable to restore to this point
 

tony007

Banned
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
1,343
Have you made backup all I can suggest now is try a reformat if that does'ent work maybe a new modem is the right thing.
 

PattiS

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 8, 2004
Messages
92
i would be afraid to try and replace it myself, is it difficult to install( Physically) a brand new modem? I am just wondering if maybe i have some sort of a virus. I did a chkdsk last night and i am now able to use sysstms restore again. However the msg i get is now USRobotics Interface has encountered a problem and needs to shut down. What is "Interface" mean?????? I finally received an email from that company all they sais is see if i am getting a double hand shake. That is real helpful, i have no idea what they are talking about. Any Help is appreciated and thanks for taking the time to read this.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2004
Messages
2,187
Can you supply the complete error message if possible ie, any code numbers? Then, I'd suggest a Hijack This post here. Let us know if you need information on that. Also, request from the company specific user-friendly information rather than settle for ambiguous responses.
 

awalker0878

Removed by request
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
407
try this click on start then run and type "netsh winsock reset all" and the ok.
reboot see now if internet works
 

PattiS

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 8, 2004
Messages
92
okay, i did the "netsh winsock reset all" and then reeboot. No wmy anti virus is showing that email protection is not enabled. I have tried to reset it and it will not work. Anyway when the eror msg comes back i will get any additional info from that ,sometimes it doen not happen right away.. I will run a hijack this file and see if this shows anything. Thank you all for your help.
 

PattiS

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 8, 2004
Messages
92
Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 8:51:44 AM, on 1/6/2006
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust Internet Security Suite\eTrust EZ Antivirus\ISafe.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\Program Files\Softex\OmniPass\Omniserv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Softex\OmniPass\OPXPApp.exe
C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust Internet Security Suite\eTrust EZ Antivirus\VetMsg.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\Digital Imaging\Unload\hpqcmon.exe
C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\HP Share-to-Web\hpgs2wnd.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\USRmlnkA.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb05.exe
C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust Internet Security Suite\eTrust EZ Antivirus\CAVTray.exe
C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust Internet Security Suite\eTrust EZ Antivirus\CAVRID.exe
C:\WINDOWS\ALCXMNTR.EXE
C:\HP\KBD\KBD.EXE
C:\Program Files\WildTangent\Apps\GameChannel.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\EShopee.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\USRshutA.exe
C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\USRmlnkA.exe
c:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\HP Share-to-Web\hpgs2wnf.exe
C:\Program Files\AWS\WeatherBug\Weather.exe
C:\Program Files\U.S. Robotics\ControlCenter\Reminder.exe
C:\Program Files\Updates from HP\137903\Program\BackWeb-137903.exe
C:\Program Files\WildTangent\Apps\CDA\GameDrvr.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\rnathchk.exe
C:\Program Files\Outlook Express\msimn.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\OM6NUR08\hijackthis[1]\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://us8.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://srch-us8.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://srch-us8.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://srch-us8.hpwis.com/
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.community.centurytel.net/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://us8.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://srch-us8.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://srch-us8.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://srch-us8.hpwis.com/
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://us8.hpwis.com/
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
O2 - BHO: My Global Search Bar BHO - {37B85A21-692B-4205-9CAD-2626E4993404} - C:\Program Files\MyGlobalSearch\bar\2.bin\MGSBAR.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: hp toolkit - {B2847E28-5D7D-4DEB-8B67-05D28BCF79F5} - C:\HP\EXPLOREBAR\HPTOOLKT.DLL
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [hpsysdrv] c:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HotKeysCmds] C:\WINDOWS\System32\hkcmd.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CamMonitor] c:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\Digital Imaging\Unload\hpqcmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Share-to-Web Namespace Daemon] c:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\HP Share-to-Web\hpgs2wnd.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StorageGuard] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sonic\Update Manager\sgtray.exe" /r
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Recguard] C:\WINDOWS\SMINST\RECGUARD.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /installquiet /keeploaded /nodetect
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [USRpdA] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\USRmlnkA.exe RunServices \Device\3cpipe-USRpdA
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Reminder] "C:\Windows\Creator\Remind_XP.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPDJ Taskbar Utility] C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb05.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CaAvTray] "C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust Internet Security Suite\eTrust EZ Antivirus\CAVTray.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CAVRID] "C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust Internet Security Suite\eTrust EZ Antivirus\CAVRID.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AlcxMonitor] ALCXMNTR.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KBD] C:\HP\KBD\KBD.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PS2] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ps2.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EShopeeVer] "C:\WINDOWS\system32\install.exe "
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WT GameChannel] C:\Program Files\WildTangent\Apps\GameChannel.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EShopee] C:\WINDOWS\System32\EShopee.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [SPYKILLER] C:\Program Files\Anonymizer\sk\SpyWareKiller.exe /BOOT
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Weather] C:\Program Files\AWS\WeatherBug\Weather.exe 1
O4 - Startup: Holiday Lights.lnk = C:\Program Files\Tiger Technologies\Holiday Lights\Holiday Lights.exe
O4 - Startup: PowerReg Scheduler V3.exe
O4 - Startup: PowerReg Scheduler.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Instant Update Reminder.lnk = ?
O4 - Global Startup: Quicken Scheduled Updates.lnk = C:\Program Files\Quicken\bagent.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Updates from HP.lnk = C:\Program Files\Updates from HP\137903\Program\BackWeb-137903.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Search - http://bar.mywebsearch.com/menusearch.html?p=ZRxdm103YYUS
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O12 - Plugin for .mp3: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\PLUGINS\npqtplugin3.dll
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/windowsupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1129142414761
O16 - DPF: {8FCDF9D9-A28B-480F-8C3D-581F119A8AB8} - http://static.zangocash.com/cab/Zango/ie/bridge-c8.cab
O16 - DPF: {9522B3FB-7A2B-4646-8AF6-36E7F593073C} (cpbrkpie Control) - http://a19.g.akamai.net/7/19/7125/4056/ftp.coupons.com/r3302/cpbrkpie.cab
O16 - DPF: {AB86CE53-AC9F-449F-9399-D8ABCA09EC09} (Get_ActiveX Control) - https://h17000.www1.hp.com/ewfrf-JAVA/Secure/HPGetDownloadManager.ocx
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{2587845B-0BA8-47E8-AA7F-B2E95DE8426B}: NameServer = 209.206.184.249 209.206.160.253
O17 - HKLM\System\CS1\Services\Tcpip\..\{2587845B-0BA8-47E8-AA7F-B2E95DE8426B}: NameServer = 209.206.184.249 209.206.160.253
O20 - Winlogon Notify: igfxcui - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\igfxsrvc.dll
O20 - Winlogon Notify: OPXPGina - C:\Program Files\Softex\OmniPass\opxpgina.dll
O23 - Service: CAISafe - Computer Associates International, Inc. - C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust Internet Security Suite\eTrust EZ Antivirus\ISafe.exe
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
O23 - Service: Softex OmniPass Service (omniserv) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Softex\OmniPass\Omniserv.exe
O23 - Service: VET Message Service (VETMSGNT) - Computer Associates International, Inc. - C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust Internet Security Suite\eTrust EZ Antivirus\VetMsg.exe
 

PattiS

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 8, 2004
Messages
92
here is the hijack this file, none of this makes any sense to me. I admire you people to be able to figure this stuff out. Thanks again for all your help
 

tony007

Banned
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
1,343
I now think that this is a modem problem you say you emailed the manufacturer and they asked you if you were getting a double handshake and you dont know what this means,neither do I but if it was me I'de email them back and ask them what they mean. I think they've given you the cheapest modem they could find at that shop. I dont think it is a virus though do you have a firewall? Try switching it off if . If you go to http://helpline.concordia.ca/network/modems scroll down to no answer theres something there about handshakes it could be something to do with your modem driver this would leave nidokn with the correct answer.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top