XP Program running in Startup vs. Services

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

nickg

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2001
Messages
66
XP made it more confusing with what you can/should/don't need to run.

what's the difference between what's in your Startup and what's in Services running and what would be safe/not safe to either delete or close?

thanks.
 

nickg

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2001
Messages
66
after seeing everything involved with "Services" and the gyrations you have to go through it may actually be more trouble than it's worth. thanks for the link though.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2004
Messages
242
Startup is just programs you want running when you turn on your computer (IM client, e-mail client, web browser, etc.)

Services are system things that need to be constantly running in the background. (firewalls, webservers, anti-virus, etc)
 

nickg

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2001
Messages
66
dmneoblade said:
Services are system things that need to be constantly running in the background. (firewalls, webservers, anti-virus, etc)
so it's probably best just to leave all this alone i would say, right?
 

nickg

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2001
Messages
66
yeah, i have no problem with programs in the Startup menu. i was just curious about Services.

here's a question though. i downloaded a utility and wasn't impressed with what it did so i dumped the program. but it's still in the startup menu. how the heck can i get rid of it from Startup. i don't see any folders or files for it unless it's buried in the registry somewhere. would that affect it still being in the Startup menu?
 

nickg

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2001
Messages
66
RAM-PAGE said:
Better to put more RAM in the computer.
i got 512 mb. that's all it can take unfortunately.

in regards to FreeRAM in the startup program. i see it in the msconfig Startup but don't see in any other utility that allows me to get into Startup. so what's the deal with that? :confused:
 

RAM-PAGE

Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
2,355
Black Viper's site has the lowdown on services. That is a good place to go.

If you really want to know what makes a difference to performance I would trial Diskeeper 9 Professional (not Home) (30 day) and, if you are running on NTFS, make sure that the Master File Tables are the right size with Frag-Shield. I had to pad out (make bigger) the MFTs on all four drives and then reset the MFT on drive C: manually. It was 99% full and causing fragmentation and poor performance.

DK9 Pro will defrag the drive in the background and with 512Mb of RAM this shouldn't be a problem.

Then you can do a boottime defrag running checkdisk at the same time, and defrag the paging file and MFTs. As long as you have 4096 bytes per allocation unit (4k clusters) you should see a dramatic increase in performance and reliability.

See the NTFS Performance link below.

It is probably a stuck entry in msconfig. Can you see it in the SpyBot start-up list?

Have you tried RegCleaner 4·3?
 

nickg

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2001
Messages
66
RAM-PAGE said:
If you really want to know what makes a difference to performance I would trial Diskeeper 9 Professional (not Home) (30 day) and, if you are running on NTFS, make sure that the Master File Tables are the right size with Frag-Shield. I had to pad out (make bigger) the MFTs on all four drives and then reset the MFT on drive C: manually. It was 99% full and causing fragmentation and poor performance.

DK9 Pro will defrag the drive in the background and with 512Mb of RAM this shouldn't be a problem.

Then you can do a boottime defrag running checkdisk at the same time, and defrag the paging file and MFTs. As long as you have 4096 bytes per allocation unit (4k clusters) you should see a dramatic increase in performance and reliability.

See the NTFS Performance link below.

It is probably a stuck entry in msconfig. Can you see it in the SpyBot start-up list?

Have you tried RegCleaner 4·3?
i do not see it in any of the listings of any utilities i run that shows the startup list...only in the msconfig startup list. that's what i dont understand.

i've been running Diskeeper Pro but i only have a few more days left on my evaluation.

as far as registry cleaners, i'm using CCleaner.
 

RAM-PAGE

Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
2,355
The items might be present in any of these locations in the registry:

[HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
[HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]

-and-

[HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows]
 

nickg

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2001
Messages
66
i looked in the registry but there is always the chance that i overlooked a key. i'll check again and see what i can see. thanks.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top