1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XP recognizes camera as removeable disk drive not a camera

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Annie12345, Jul 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Annie12345

    Annie12345 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    I have a digital camera with Window's XP. Originally, when I turned the camera on, it would launch a wizard to transfer the files.

    Lately (maybe since I installed SP1), it doesn't recognize the camera as picture files, but as a removable drive. I have changed this setting in the drive properties, but the setting won't stay so something must be overriding it.

    I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling the camera, but the same thing happens.

    A new program called "safely remove hardware" might possibly be involved, but I can't find any settings there to change that might impact this. I'm not sure where this came from unless it was part of SP1.

    Any help out there?
     
  2. buddhafabio

    buddhafabio

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,246
    it thinks it is a removable disk because of the memory card try gonnecting the camera without mem card
     
  3. CouchMaster

    CouchMaster

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,303
    My camera started doing the exact same thing. I haven't figured it out either - but I just go into the removable disk, highlight the folder and copy it to my pictures. This works fine but I really want my wizard back! Any help here would be greatly appreciated...
     
  4. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    Try re-installing your camera software, which should change the device association to open the camera software.
     
  5. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
    My camera was installed by XP when I plugged it into XP SP1. Go to Scanners and Cameras in Control panel and delete the camera with it unplugged from the computer. Also remove any software for the camera that might have drivers from Add/Remove programs in Control Panel.

    Maybe SP1 will recognize and load your camera when you plug it in. If not reinstall the software.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/144373

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice