XP Reformat w/o any Hardware Disks?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mustangclint

Hello all!

I bought this custom computer from a buddy but he didn't have any of the hardware disks so i don't have the drivers for anything. I've reformatted b4 but never on this puter and its definately time to do so.

I do have the WinXP disk so thats all good, but i'm not sure if i need the drivers for my motherboard, etc etc to make my puter run again.

I'm a noob when it comes to this stuff but could someone possibly give me a list of what drivers i have to download to disk b4 i reformat? And how to find out what drivers i currently have? Or whatever steps i should take b4 i reformat? Or will windows automatically find them for me? I have no clue guys, so please i need some help. My online games are running like crap and puter is slow.

I really really appreciate any help on this subject. Thx all!

You need to download the motherboard chipset drivers and video card drivers as a priority.

In order to do this you need to know the motherboard make and model, ditto for the video card (unless its on-board video in which case its done with the motherboard drivers).

mustangclint

Wow, that was a fast reply. Good thing i came here to ask. Thx BTW!

So where would i find what drivers i am using currently for my mobo? And another quick question. I have a video card but i read somewhere that i should disable the onboard video. Where do i go to disable that (xp) ?

Again, thx for the quick reply!

For information on your hardware, download and install this utility:

AIDA32
It has clickable links with most hardware items to take you to the manufacturer's site and/or the drivers site. Just make sure you write your specs down so you get the correct drivers.