1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XP SP2 activation

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Gswiss, Nov 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gswiss

    Gswiss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    I am unable to obtain the display of the activation window when I type oobe/msoobe /a or go through Programs - Accessories - System Tools - Activation. There is no rebuttal. The request is processed but nothing happens.

    I reinstalled XP from scratch and used the previous WPA which I had saved previously. The WPA files were copy-pasted under Safe Mode.

    Bottom line : I don't know whether I am considered as activated or not.
     
  2. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,602
    If the system doesn’t remind you to activate windows! Then the chances are, you’re activated.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Go get some updates manually from Windows update. If that works, you're activated.
     
  4. Gswiss

    Gswiss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    Thanks for the tips. I'll get back to that pc next week and will keep you posted.
     
  5. Gswiss

    Gswiss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    I couldn't work on this item after all. I'll report back around mid-January. Anyhow, we'll know by then if the pc is activated or not!
     
  6. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    By then if you are not activated, your OS would be "toast" and computer unusable.
     
  7. Gswiss

    Gswiss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    I got involved in other problems with this pc and I had to reinstall XP for other reasons. Anyhow, the Activation seems to have been ok but I still do not know why oobe does not excute to provide me with the Activation status.

    Thanks for your suggestions.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/522710

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice