1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XP SP2 download where is it

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jraquel, Jul 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jraquel

    jraquel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    341
    I have been looking for the download of XP SP2 but keep going in circles. It tells me there is a smaller version to download than the one for the IT network. Anyone know where to get it? The update site for MS is where I have been looking but not any luck.

    I am using XP Pro,

    Thanks
     
  2. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
  3. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
  4. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    actually the full network version is the one you really want to install. Just go to the link that Doublehelix has and go for it. You will have less problems.
     
  5. jraquel

    jraquel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    341
    Thanks guys. But one thing I noticed right off after installing the SP2, the computer is extremely slow and my mouse plugged into the USB port will not work. This is on a Gateway laptop. Any suggestions on why these two problems are there?

    Thanks
     
  6. DefConDelta

    DefConDelta

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    137
    Have you gone into Device Manager and made sure your driver for the mouse is still there?
     
  7. jraquel

    jraquel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    341
    Thanks Guys,

    I have the mouse and printer working now, but I might need to remove SP2. It takes 15 minutes for the computer to start up and everything seems to be resetting itself and I am having to redefine stuff like my wireless card, etc. Not just once but several times already.

    Is there a way to remove SP2?
     
  8. jraquel

    jraquel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    341
    I removed XP SP2 and now since I have increased my ram, the SP2 will not let me use the website to reinstall it. Any suggestions.

    My firewall is off.

    I get a message that this page can not open. It, the page, will open on my other computer, so I know it is not a problem with the web site, but something the site does not like about my laptop since I unistalled SP2 and want to reinstall it.

    Thanks
     
  9. DefConDelta

    DefConDelta

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    137
    I have it SP2 in a folder on my desktop. Let me know.
     
  10. jraquel

    jraquel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    341
    I finally got it to let me download SP2. This time I did it right I think. I had to delete all the updates from my computer before it would let me get SP2. There was a pile left from something when I tried to get [email protected] earlier this morning. Thanks for the help.
     
  11. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    Are you trying to install or run SP2 installation from the download site?

    Or have you downloaded it and are or have run the install program from your computer?
     
  12. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
  13. jraquel

    jraquel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    341
    I installed it from the download site. I tried to use the one where it is for the network, first and I did not notice there was a warning in the middle of the page saying do not use this version for a single computer but go here for a single computer. So I went there after I finally got all of the network version of SP2 off my computer. It took a long time to do all it wanted to do, like installed all the latest updates and then check the computer again for uninstalled updates and finally said I needed SP2 and it went ahead and installed correctly or so it seems. It is not running any slower than it was before I put SP2 on it, fairly fast.
     
  14. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    For future readers . . you can safely ignore the "warning" . . the full download of SP2 will often install with fewer problems than the Windows Update version
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - download where
  1. Alpha227
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    838
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/595477

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice