Xp SP3

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mrtubs

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2005
Messages
62
Hi
Is it worth installing SP3 on my XP operating system. It is working OK without it.
Any advice appreciated.
Thanks
Ian
 

Everway9

Drew
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
409
Its entirely your choice! I would say yes as i'm the type of person that likes everything up to date. I have not had any problems either
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
5,941
You could search here and see the many threads by people that have had problems, and probably nearly as many from those that haven't!

SP3 isn't a Critical patch (unless you haven't been doing routine patching) and any 'improvements ' it provides appear to be limited to those that have networks, Full details can be obtained from the PDF document that you can download here; http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...AD-BC34-40BE-8D85-6BB4F56F5110&displaylang=en

This is Microsoft's own summary of what it contains;
"Windows® XP Service Pack 3 (SP3) includes all previously released updates for the operating system. This update also includes a small number of new functionalities, which do not significantly change customers’ experience with the operating system."

I myself haven't installed it because a) I'm still on dialup and it's a very big d/l, and b) I don't want 'all previously released updates'. I use the Custom option when doing updates and only have the Critical ones. I have no use for .NET framework, Silverlight or any of the other goodies MS think I need.

I have seen suggestions that it will be mandatory in the future in order to obtain updates for XP. I doubt that that could include future Critical updates but will wait and see.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,485
Ian:

In a nutshell, if you have XP SP2 installed and have kept up-to-date with the 100+ post-SP2 critical updates, it's not mandatory that you install the SP3 upgrade.

-----------------------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
266
i installed sp3 and have had no problems whatsoever .......i suppose it is up to the individual though
 

mrtubs

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2005
Messages
62
Many thanks for all your helpful answers. I have now installed SP3 and so far so good.
Thanks again
Ian
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
91
....some of the apps on my rig would work correctly itunes itl library files got lost/erased, speed was lowered by a few notches.....after a few hits there a slaps there(installs).....pc was workin near performance before sp3...still not able to fix itunes itunes library.itl files...says they're lost or cant be written....note itunes was working before update to sp3..........
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top