1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XP Stop error on shutdown

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by kat07, Jan 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kat07

    kat07 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Hi,

    I ran AVG yesterday and it found the trojan horse musicsearch. got rid of those files having never executed them. i'm wondering if any of my files could have been corrupted by this anyway? i am using xp professional

    I also downloaded ad-aware after reading up on trojan horses, but when i try to scan my pc, it restarts my pc shortly after starting the scan. Any suggestions??

    Thanks
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Download SpyBot, AdAware hasn't been updated in months.
     
  3. kat07

    kat07 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Hi,
    Downloaded spybot and having the same prob. i was able to fix a few probs, but it restarts my pc before it finishes scanning.
     
  4. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi kat07

    To double check your other scan

    Do an 0n-line scan for viruses here :-

    http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

    or here :-

    http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/

    If you post your startup list we may be able to spot something

    Please post your startup list by doing the following :-

    Please go here and download startuplist 1.51 :-

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/

    Download to any folder or your desktop
    Unzip the zipfile
    Double click the exe file
    go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results in a new post here


    steam
     
  5. kat07

    kat07 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Hi,

    i was finally able to finish scanning with spybot, fixed everything it said to, but now noticed that my pc is restarting for no apparent reason. any ideas?

    here is my startup list:

    StartupList report, 27/01/2003, 3:17:15 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\DOCUME~1\Kathleen\LOCALS~1\Temp\StartupList.EXE
    Detected: Windows XP (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgserv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\fxssvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Adaptec\Easy CD Creator 5\DirectCD\DirectCD.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\MightyFax NT\MFNTCTL.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\rnathchk.exe
    C:\Program Files\3web\system\launcher.exe
    C:\Program Files\3web\system\cydial95.exe
    C:\Program Files\Juno\bin\juno.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\WINZIP\winzip32.exe
    C:\DOCUME~1\Kathleen\LOCALS~1\Temp\StartupList.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Common Startup:
    [C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup]
    ADOBE GAMMA LOADER.LNK = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    MightyFAX Controller.lnk = C:\Program Files\MightyFax NT\MFNTCTL.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking Windows NT UserInit:

    [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
    UserInit = C:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe,

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    TkBellExe = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe -osboot
    AVG_CC = C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
    POINTER = point32.exe
    AdaptecDirectCD = "C:\Program Files\Adaptec\Easy CD Creator 5\DirectCD\DirectCD.exe"

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    CTFMON.EXE = C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
    msnmsgr = "C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe" /background

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
    (no name) - (no file) - {CBB0A6A0-8430-11D4-814D-0050047090B1}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job
    PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job
    Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
    Maintenance-Disk cleanup.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Win32 Classes]

    [Yahoo! Audio Conferencing]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YACSCOM.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://cs5.chat.sc5.yahoo.com/v43/yacscom.cab

    [RdxIE Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\RDXIE.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://207.188.25.41/18a3c393ccb4353bcb02/netzip/RdxIE.cab

    [RdxIE Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\CONFLICT.2\RDXIE.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://207.188.7.150/014f9bf0b09465228700/netzip/RdxIE6.cab

    [HouseCall Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\xscan53.ocx
    CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2003011601/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab

    [{8522F9B3-38C5-4AA4-AE40-7401F1BBC851}]
    CODEBASE = http://www.trinsic.org/download_serial.exe

    [MSN File Upload Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\MSNUPLD.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://sc.communities.msn.com/controls/FileUC/MsnUpld.cab

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\System32\iuctl.dll
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37607.1994560185

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\System32\macromed\flash\Flash.ocx
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 5,058 bytes
    Report generated in 1.402 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  6. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
  7. kat07

    kat07 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Hi Steamwiz,

    thanks for the help, but i think i have a major prob. now when my pc shuts down on it's own i get a blue screen with some instructions to run chkdsk f/ and the following :

    stop: 0x00000023 (0x000E0100, 0xFA27E894, 0XFA27E594,0x80536BA7)

    i have no clue what this means, but i do know a blue screen is not a good thing!!

    forgot to mention i recently had a friend install a cd-rw/ dvd combo drive, could this be causing the problem?

    thanks,

    kat07
     
  8. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi kat07

    The error you are getting appears to be a "stop" error, and the links I posed deal with "stop" errors in XP

    I shall ask for this thread to be moved to the XP forum where someone more versed in XP may be able to help you better

    steam
     
  9. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
  10. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi kat07

    I've just read the link that Tony has posted you, and it looks like the cd-rw/ dvd combo drive, could be causing the problem

    check out the link and good luck

    steam
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Stop error shutdown
  1. SkipRinPerth
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    579
  2. thp83
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    584
  3. ehbowen
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    758
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115514

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice