1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XP to Replace Vista

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by cudgel01, Nov 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cudgel01

    cudgel01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    hi guys,

    my hp laptop comes with windows vista that always give me problem. i find win XP oky to my taste since XPsp3 is almost like vista. but dont know how to get the system formatted and install the XP.


    step to step help would be appreciate.

    thanks.
     
  2. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791

    I suggest you start off at the HP website to make sure that XP drivers are available for your particular model. If they aren't, the whole project is doomed from the outset. To make the installation, you need a legitimate XP CD which isn't in use in another machine and you have to change the boot order in BIOS to run from CD first. The CD will then take over and carry out the format which will destroy everything so take your important files out in advance.

    Once XP is up and running, then you need to check in Device Manager for devices which won't work until the drivers are installed.
     
  3. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
  4. cudgel01

    cudgel01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    thank for the info, plz can you tell me the F'' or functional key to activate the system to boot direct form CD at start-up without going to BIOS setup?
     
  5. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,773
    If the laptop has a SATA HDD ... And you don't have a Floppy Drive to install the SATA Driver at the F6 Prompt ...
    You'll have to slipstream the driver into the XP install CD ... Using this Procedure
     
  6. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    If it has a SATA drive you can avoid the SATA driver issue by setting the hard drive mode to IDE emulation in the BIOS setup.

    The F12 or F10 key is commonly used to get to the boot device menu.
     
  7. cudgel01

    cudgel01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    @Noyb:

    i really appreciate your assistance here in and every other person providing help assistance herein. thanks to you useful information.
     
  8. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,773
    In all my HP's .. Tapping the Esc key at bootup will enter the Boot Menu.
    This is sometimes needed to Boot from the CD/DVD.

    HP has a Business Support Site where you could ask what drivers you needed to "Upgrade" to XP ...
    But it looks like they've quit answering these requests.

    I've been wondering if there's a way to "read" a Vista or W7 computer to see what Drivers are needed ??

    @Frank4d ... You gonna miss Kokomo's weather this winter :D
     
  9. cudgel01

    cudgel01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    my laptop is HP Pavillion dv6500, S/N CNF7470LS0 , P/N G0264EA ABB
     
  10. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,773
    Press ALT + CRTL+ S ... All at the same time ..
    What model number does the Popup say ??
     
  11. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,773
  12. cudgel01

    cudgel01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    thank you for all the useful information supplied here guy.

    i must confess that i feel you here.
     
  13. cudgel01

    cudgel01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    my laptop is HP Pavillion dv6500, S/N CNF7470LS0 , P/N G0264EA ABB with service tage : dv6536en would the 32-bit floppy config utility for intel storage manager work with my laptop? if not please send me a link to follow to the right part.
     
  14. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,773
  15. cudgel01

    cudgel01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    thanks to your response. i would appreciate if you could zip the file you used for your laptop and send to my e-mail [email protected]. thanks.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/880772

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice