xp update

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

LQQKING4U

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7
I had a computer to fry, pulled an old one out of closet. Started to install the printer but the instruction say only for xp with sp3 installed, problem is this old computer does show sp3 installed. Updates is turned on but hasn't updated yet. Is there any way to force the update?

Bear in mind that i'm not to computer savy
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
1,312
Have you tried to update by clicking on the Start Menu, then clicking programs,
then clicking Windows Update?
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
20
you can visit
http://update.microsoft.com
To use this site, you must be running Microsoft Internet Explorer 5 or later and visit the above link using that browser.

Once there you can install the needed updates.

on the left menu you can also click on "review your update history" to see what you have downloaded, what was installed and what updates failed, if any.

If the computer shows that XP SP3 is already installed and you are having problems with printer installation you may need a specific driver for that printer.

If you are not sure about what you have installed, you can check it this way:

To check what service pack you have installed:
right click on the "my computer" icon on the desktop.

select "properties"

on the "General" tab you will see something like this:

System:
Microsoft Windows XP
Home Edition
Version 2002
Service Pack ???
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
All service packs are available for download. You can then install them from your desktop.

But once you have XP SP3, you have new operating system. You won't be able to use your CD for repairs or to replace damaged files. You really would be better off creating an XP SP3 CD and then running a repair installation than just installing the updates. You would then have a CD for your OS and you would save a lot of disk space that would go to backups if the service packs are installed in Windows.

Automatically Slipstream Windows XP with SP3 and All Post-SP3 Security Hotfixes with a Single Command
 

LQQKING4U

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7
My computer shows to be windows xp, home edition, version 2002. shows no updates (sp) at all, automatic updates on for about 24 hours. tryed going to microsoft updates, read that sp 2 has to be installed before installing sp 3.
also says if i'm not seeing updates on their site i might be running an older version, have no idea what that means.
The only reason i'd update is the new printer says for, xp with sp 3. Haven't tryed to installed it yet trying to get this update thing resolved first.
 

LQQKING4U

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7
Found site windows.microsoft.com/service-packs. It has all three updates sp1a, sp2,and sp3, from reading sounds like they have to be installed in that order. am i correct?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
No, you can start with SP2 which has SP1 in it. Then go to SP3. Or make an XP CD with it inside already so you will have a CD for your OS.

Upgrades often result in problems.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top