1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

xp upgrade

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by JJAG, Jul 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JJAG

    JJAG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    i just had to replace my harddrive and i am now reloading everything.i have winme and tried reloading the xp upgrade and it tells me theres not enough memory.it was loaded before replacing the hd.thanks
     
  2. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Did you boot from the XP Intall disc, delete any partitions then set up new ones the size you want? . . You do not need to install ME ( pardon the language ) first . . just install XP and it will ask to "see" the prior version disc to qualify for the upgrade.

    This is a site that walks you thru a simulated XP installation:
    http://www.echoproject.net/en/software/catalog.html

    These are good guides to reinstalling XP . . you might want to print one for reference during the install.

    http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/windowsxp_sg_clean.asp
    http://www.socrtwo.info/cleanxpinstall.htm
    http://www.theeldergeek.com/xp_home_install_-_graphic.htm
     
  3. JJAG

    JJAG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    if i just want to start over how can i wipe me off and then reload just xp so i will not tie so much memory? i had thought you needed to load both me and xp since xp was a upgrade.THANKS
     
  4. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    No need to install ME ( pardon the language ) . . to wipe and reinstall, enter BIOS ( Setup ) and set the first boot device as CD/ROM.

    Put your XP Disc in the drive and disconnect all external peripherals except the monitor, keyboard and mouse, and be sure those are not USB, or wireless. Any internal USB card should also be removed.

    Since you are using an upgrade version installation CD, you'll also need a install CD for Windows ME to complete the install. Also Make sure you have the 25-digit product code for the Windows XP CD.

    Once you set your BIOS to boot first from cd . . when it restarts you will see a black screen with a prompt "Press any key to boot from CD" . . do that and you will be able to delete any or all partitions and recreate one or more, then proceed to formating and installing XP.

    That message can pass quickly, so have a finger on the keyboard when you boot. This will delete all data on the drive so be sure you have your important data backed up. The prompt will appear after every reboot, but do not press any key on subsequent reboots. The setup process will continue with no action required from you.

    If you do not get that message, and if you have another optical drive, try the XP CD in the other drive.

    If you are installing on SATA drive, there is an additional step:

    http://xphelpandsupport.mvps.org/how_do_i_install_windows_xp_on_a.htm

    This is a site that walks you thru a simulated XP installation:
    http://www.echoproject.net/en/software/catalog.html

    These are good guides to reinstalling XP . . you might want to print one for reference during the install.

    http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/windowsxp_sg_clean.asp
    http://www.socrtwo.info/cleanxpinstall.htm
    http://www.theeldergeek.com/xp_home_install_-_graphic.htm

    You will likely have to reload drivers (Chipset first) and applications, If your XP installation disc does not include SP2, after the installation, you will need to download and install SP-2, while windows is clean. Prior to connecting to the internet be sure you enable the XP firewall.

    For help entering BIOS: http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/bios_manufacturer.htm
     
  5. JJAG

    JJAG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    thanks for the help.i reloaded and i am running after loading almost all my stuff i am getting a error c drive running on low space.and one of my appl. i need to load there is not enough space.they were all loaded before.when i loaded xp i clicked on ntfs instead of fat was this a mistake.c drive is showing on the pie chart me using 1.90gb and 93.5mb free.should i compress these files,switch to fat.,add memory or install a bigger hd.all i have installed at the moment are add ons(printers etc..) no personal folders.
     
  6. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    NTFS is right for XP . . you do not want to compress any files.

    You have only one partition on the drive? . . look in Disk Management ( Right click on My Computer . . Select Manage . . Disk Management ) what do you see for hard drives there?

    Edit . . I just noticed you said it had 93.5MB . . did you mean GB? . .
     
  7. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    How big is the hard drives capacity?
     
  8. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Did you use fdisk at any point in this process?
     
  9. JJAG

    JJAG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    i have 180gb hd .idid not use f drive
     
  10. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    What does Disk Management show?
     
  11. JJAG

    JJAG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    Disk Management shows ,disk 0 (c), cdrom 0 dvd (d),cdrom 1 dvd (e).under disk 0 (c:) reads basic 232.8gb for primary partion 2.00 gb ntfs healthy system, unallocated 230.88 gb.

    under my computer>properties>general. used space 1.99gb and free space 342 kb
     
  12. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Well . . somehow you created a 2 GIG partition and left the rest unpartitioned . . I'd start over . . boot from the install CD, Delete all partitions, then set up the one(s) you want going forward . . then install XP again
     
  13. JJAG

    JJAG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    ok im going to try again. do i need to first put in the install cd that came from dell it also has me on it or do i boot up with the xp cd.thanks
     
  14. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    You boot from the XP CD . . then follow the steps above
     
  15. JJAG

    JJAG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    132
    when i get to the screen ask that has the partition do i want to delete all thats on the list before i install the new one?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - upgrade
  1. Rougeole
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    1,182
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/597711

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice