1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XP Volume Control won't maximize

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by BedBug, Oct 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BedBug

    BedBug Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Whenever I try and open my volume properties/settings, be it by double-clicking the icon in the system tray, or going to control panel and doing it that way, it opens already minimised to the taskbar at the foot of the screen, and no matter what i do it won't maximise, and so i can't adjust any of my volume settings.


    This may sound trivial but it's a real problem for me.

    I would be very grateful for some advice.

    Many thanks,

    Bug
     
  2. kath100

    kath100

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,062
    What happens when you right click on it?
     
  3. pileyrei

    pileyrei

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    594
    good question, you should be able to right click and choose restore or maximise.

    Lets us know.

    Good luck

    Pileyrei
     
  4. BedBug

    BedBug Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    no offence but obviously i've tried all that.....when i right click, the option to maximise is faded, i.e. i can't choose it.
     
  5. pileyrei

    pileyrei

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    594
    thats weird!

    ok......

    are u on broad band?

    I'm happy to netmeet up with you and have a quick look.
    (If that helps!0

    Cya

    Pileyrei
     
  6. BedBug

    BedBug Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    yeah i tried remote assistance with a friend and it won't work....perhaps beacuse I'm on a university network
     
  7. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    There is a fix for this exact problem for earlier versions of Windows.

    Proceed with care: Its editing of the Registry, first confirm that the key does exist in your version. It does in mine, and the values are 0 for both X and Y. Worth a try.

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Applets\Volume Control

    under this is the DWord values for X and Y. backup the whole key (just in case) and change the X and Y to 1.
     
  8. pileyrei

    pileyrei

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    594
    Looks like a good fix! (where do u guys find this stuff?!) (y)

    Please let us know if this works.....

    Pileyrei
     
  9. BedBug

    BedBug Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    I'd be glad to try it, however I need more comprehensive instructions - I am no computer whizz.
     
  10. BedBug

    BedBug Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Where can I find the find the registry file?
     
  11. pileyrei

    pileyrei

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    594
    Click start>run. Type regedit and click ok.

    Navigate to the path that was shown in an earlier post .....HKEY something etc. Make the changes shown.If you are not sure what
    you are doing then stop! The registry is very volatile!

    If you get stuck then email me: [email protected]. Perhaps we can netmeet online and I can connect to your pc to help you do it...assuming you have broadband, 56K will be too slow!


    good luck

    Pileyrei
     
  12. BedBug

    BedBug Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    yes!

    thanks it worked!!
     
  13. pileyrei

    pileyrei

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    594
    Good stuff!

    Well done Kiwiguy for providing the answer!

    Pileyrei
     
  14. analyst

    analyst

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Sorry to drag up an old thread guys but some things just don't go away.

    I've had this exact problem for quite a long time now and stumbled across this forum looking for a fix.

    System is Windows 2000. Any attempt to bring up windows mixer controls, playback or recording just puts an icon on the taskbar which can't be opened. Maximise is greyed out.

    I tried the registry fix above and that didn't work.

    Now, I do have two sound cards effectively. On board and an added Creative SB Live.
    This isn't a conflict problem, they both worked happily together for years, with full controls available.

    Now the registry settings for the SB Card were 0 which I changed to 1
    but here is my registry settings (a cut and paste compilation job as you can see)

    [​IMG]

    Don't ask me why there are so many entries for 2 cards but the emu10K relates to the Creative SB card and the SIS7012 is the on-board.
    As the Dword for other X & Y settings is more complex is was a bit put off messing them around.

    Any help would really be appreciated, hell I'd even buy a round of beers :D
     
  15. analyst

    analyst

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    OK, I guess you don't like beer huh?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Volume Control won't
  1. dummy12
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    340
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/170853

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice