1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XP wont boot

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by thymekiller, Feb 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. thymekiller

    thymekiller Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    I got a machine here-its a presario 5190. It has 2 instances of XP installed, and it wont boot to either one. The owner said he tried to install a printer, and then when he rebooted, it got caught in a loop, and just contnues to restart itself. It wont start in safe mode, and it wont start with the last known good configuration. I tried a repair install, but that didnt seem to work either. It just reboots endlessly, right after XP starts loading. Any suggestions ?? I suspect the computer doesnt have enough memory for XP. I believe XP requires a minium of 256MB, and I believe this has only 192 MB RAM. I believe that the best option is to reformat, and install Win 98. The guy that owns this doesnt even have it on the internet-just uses it for his trip planner, and some games. Any thoughts on the subject?? Thanks for all the input!!!
    thyme
     
  2. physician

    physician

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,421
    Reformatting the hard drive and reinstalling the OS will cure all problems that are not hardware related - you just lose all your data. XP does need 256 megs to run well, but it will run with less. RAM is cheap, so why not add 256 more? The reboot is not from not enuf ram, the computer will use the hard drive for virtual memory to add to the ram to get XP to run I believe. You could also do the win98 route or they could just get a PalmPilot...doc
     
  3. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    It will run OK on 192, so that is certainly not the reason for the reboots.

    But since it has someone else's stuff on it, why not just install cleanly. At least then any problems that come up will be your own and not from a previous user. It's hard enough to try to trace back your own activities on the machine to try to remember if something you did may have caused a problem without having to guess at another person's activities.
     
  4. runnyooze

    runnyooze

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    i run win xp pro on pentium 2 with 187 mg ddr ram no problems sounds like a hard drive problem try a scandisk through dos or get a low level format utility try that
     
  5. thymekiller

    thymekiller Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    ok-thanks-I'll look in that direction. Appreciate the input!!!!!
     
  6. runnyooze

    runnyooze

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    yw dood
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/325853

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice