1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XP won't go past windows advanced options menu

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by pieboy, Oct 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pieboy

    pieboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Hi, first post here and in need of help.

    My wifes PC won't get past the windows advanced options menu, whichever option I select I just get back to windows advanced options menu.:mad:

    Can anyone help or is it a complete re install?:eek:

    PB
     
  2. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,891
    What does it do on a normal boot?
     
  3. pieboy

    pieboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Hi, thanks for the reply,

    that is a normal boot up. I think it wasn't switched off and the battery died hence the windows advanced options menu screen at startup because it wasn't shut down properly.

    PB
     
  4. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    If you have the XP CD, run that to the Repair option and at the C:\ prompt, type fixmbr and hit enter and when that stage completes, acknowledge the message then type fixboot and hit Enter again.
     
  5. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,891
    Not recommended for OEM PC's like Dell, HP, Sony ect, they use custom master boot records, and that command will overwrite it, breaking functionality of things like the restore partition, diagnostic tools, ect. The custom MBR cannot be restored.

    fixboot is OK.

    .
     
  6. pieboy

    pieboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    slight problem there, PC came with XP pre installed,I did make the recovery disks but three house moves and I can't find the :eek: things. looks like a trip to PC world and a payment to have it sorted.
     
  7. pieboy

    pieboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    I can find the restore disks for my sony Vaio desktop running XP, will they suffice to gt me through to the fixboot option. wife has updated xp on her laptop prior to this problem apparently.:mad:
     
  8. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,891
    You can use most any XP "installation" CD to run the command.

    Some "restore" discs are not XP "installation" discs, but custom factory restore discs for the intended PC, and will not work for your needs.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/869406

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice