1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

xp won't refresh my desktop at all any more!!!

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by bryanstatham, Dec 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bryanstatham

    bryanstatham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    this is a bizarre problem - all of a sudden any activity on my xp pro desktop has to be manually refreshed in order to be visible!! I can place a file there but it won't show uintil i rict click and refresh - any ideas or solutions any one?

    please this is really annoying me - anyone else having the same problem?
     
  2. devil_himself

    devil_himself

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,910
    Open Notepad ..Copy And Paste The Following Code And Save as "fix.reg" .. After Saving right Click on Fix.reg and Choose Merge

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Update]
    "UpdateMode"=dword:00000000
    
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced]
    "NoNetCrawling"=dword:00000000
    
    
    
     
  3. bryanstatham

    bryanstatham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks - i'll let you know if it works !!
     
  4. bryanstatham

    bryanstatham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Sorry dude, rather frustratingly - it didn't work..

    Bah!!
     
  5. devil_himself

    devil_himself

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,910
    Use The Attached Tool .. Until I Find a Solution For It ...Place It on The Desktop And Double Click on It

    The Full Syntax Is

    ---------------------------
    refresh /?
    ---------------------------
    Refresh.exe
    Version 1.1, Copyright (C)2002, Frank P. Westlake. [/ENVIRONMENT]

    /ENVIRONMENT Notifies applications to update their environment.

    The default procedure is to notify the system to refresh the default desktop

    (WinSta0\Default) (Also works from the system account.)

    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------
     

    Attached Files:

  6. bryanstatham

    bryanstatham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    thanks dude - i'll give it a go when i get back home. Thanks for such a speedy response...

    Happy Xmas, New Year & all that !!
     
  7. bryanstatham

    bryanstatham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    nope, i'm afraid that the fix had absolutely no discernible effect whatsover
     
  8. Icarus3000

    Icarus3000

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Did you ever find a solution to your problem? It just started happening to me today,and it is very annoying!
     
  9. bryanstatham

    bryanstatham Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    The only solution for this issue was to install a second hard drive, format it from the old XP installation, swap them physically, set up the bios and start the whole sorry business from the beginning. Installing windows XP, Service Pack1a, Service Pack 3, and then doing the update from the wiondows update site.

    None of the assistance from here or anywhere else had any effect whatsoever.

    (Although all attempts at assistance were appreciated)

    Sorry it wasnt better news...
     
  10. Icarus3000

    Icarus3000

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Sorry to hear you had such problems! I figured out a way to solve the problem with slightly less hassle, I created a new user account on XP. Still a pain, but not as bad as re-formatting my HD and re-installing windows from scratch.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/663454