1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

XPS 210 Graphics Card & RAM Upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by aww102, May 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. aww102

aww102 Thread Starter

Hi all,

First time on the forum as this is my very first attempt at upgrading my PC.

I'm having serious doubts whether my 2 year old Dell XPS 210 (Core 2 Duo E6600 Processor 2.4GHz 1066Mhz) box will be able to cope with Street Fighter 4. I've been using the URL link (below) to benchmark my computer against minimum specs of some current graphics heavy games (Far Cry 2, Crysis, Left 4 Dead etc.). The funny thing is that it apparently fails minimum specs for games that seem to already run just fine with my current setup.

Can You Run It?

Anyway the issues are:
    1. Graphics Card

Currently I still have the factory fitted 256MB ATI Radeon X1300 Pro (PCI Express x16 interface with DVI output) in place. I'm well aware that because of the space saving case, the Dell XPS 210 is notoriously difficult to upgrade, and I suspect (as a newbie) that this impacts on the graphics cards I can upgrade to. I'm told that the Radeon X1300 is a half-height graphics card and my general search for half height replacements similarly have 256MB.

• Would I be able to replace my current PCI-Express x16 graphics card with a (half-height) PCI-Express 2.0 card?

• Are there any more powerful (>256MB) low-profile/half-height graphics card you guys can recommend?
    Hopefully I won't have to start considering about replacing the power supply as well, since I have exactly no knowledge about that what-so-ever.

2. RAM