XP's IE status bar disappearing

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Puritan

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 14, 2001
Messages
242
I dislike XP's default cartoony theme, so I switched my UI theme back to classic mode. But in classic mode, using IE 6.0, often times when I have IE windows open and either open a new window or follow a link in a new window, the new window appears with no status bar (the original window retains its status bar). This automatic turning off of IE's status bar is very annoying; I have to constantly manually turn it back on after I open new windows. I don't think this is a problem in the XP theme (at least, I've never seen it while running my Guest account, which uses the XP theme), but it happens all the time in my Classic theme. Microsoft's knowledge base doesn't seem to address this at all (maybe because no one finds this problem in the default XP theme?). Does anyone know how to fix this so that all of my new IE windows always have status bars?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Forget the mention of the classic theme, I just switched to the XP theme to test this out (I guess I should hvae done that before I posted the message, huh :eek:) and the disappearing status bar is still a problem there too.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Messages
378
Puritan< Try going up to and clicking on VIEW (at top) next to EDIT and a drop down menu will come down then just make sure the STATUS BAR has a CHECK MARK next to it and that should do it. TOM
 

Puritan

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 14, 2001
Messages
242
Yeah, it has a check, my IE windows normally have status bars. It's only when I open up new windows that they often open up without status bars; the new windows uncheck the status bar option by themselves. I manually recheck the status bar options to turn them back on, but it's annoying how new windows don't remember their original settings and turn the status bar off.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Messages
378
Let me think about this for awhile and check some things out and i will get back to you!
 

BML

Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Messages
684
I get the same thing. i go to <view>....<toolbars> and click on <status bar>. But it goes away at times.

It really bothered me when I'd look in Windows Explorer and cant see the status at bottom which shows the size of the current folder or drive.

I wonder why MS dislikes the status bar so much? what do they have against it?
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Messages
378
This is from MS, see if pertains to you guys,>>If you are using Internet Explorer 5.0, you may have a system resources problem. Here is the MS knowledgebase article on the topic and a link to a patch:


SYMPTOMS
After using Internet Explorer for a while, one of the following symptoms may occur:

The menu bar may disappear.

System resources may become very low.

CAUSE
This problem can occur because of a resource leak in Internet Explorer.

RESOLUTION
A supported fix is now available from Microsoft, but it is only intended to correct the problem described in this article and should be applied only to systems experiencing this specific problem. This fix may receive additional testing at a later time, to further ensure product quality. Therefore, if you are not severely affected by this problem, Microsoft recommends that you wait for the next that contains this fix.

To resolve this problem immediately, contact Microsoft Product Support Services to obtain the fix. For a complete list of Microsoft Product Support Services phone numbers and information about support costs, please go to the following address on the World Wide Web:

http://support.microsoft.com/directory/overview.asp
 

Puritan

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 14, 2001
Messages
242
I don't think that's the problem, I'm using 6.0 and it's the status bar that disappears, not the menu bar. There's no system leak, since the status bars in the new windows can easily be turned back on; I think it's just a failure of IE to remember to keep that setting on for new windows.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
I agree. And I also have the problem. If I run across anything, I'll let you know. Please let me know if you find something too.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Messages
378
Ok Guys, maybe between us we can find out what the heck this is! Will be back soon
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Messages
378
Hi Guys, If you are sure it isn't a virus, my best guess would be that something is preventing your registry from being updated, or IE is not even attempting to edit the registry. I suspect the latter. You might try uninstalling and reinstalling IE 6 from the ADD/REMOVE PROGRAMS option in CONTROL PANEL.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Messages
378
If any of you are using XP, Then this cannot be done because it is preinstalled But there is a way out of that too, let me know how the reinstall goes?
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
I don't think there's really any 'problem' here - I just think Microsoft screwed up. I am using XP w/IE6. If I open a window from the executable or any kind of a shortcut to IE, it's fine. This only occurs when choosing File>New Window from within the browser.
There is a registry entry that controls whether to show the status bar but looks like that is not used when opening a new windows from within an already open one.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Messages
378
Angel. Sounds like it could be a damaged, Do you have HP SUPPORT? You may have to do a NON-DESRUCTIVE SYSTEM RECOVERY! Let me look a little further into this and get back to you! I am really curious as to HOW AND WHY things happen and especially HOW to CORRECT IT, Have to go out for awhile but will be back later! If you find out anything meanwhile (from HP) let me know, I will be in touch,
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
Not sure why I would contact HP - would never purchase one.

I really don't think there's anything damanged - at least in my system. I checked around and looks like others are having the same problem. So, I guess here's a question... Is there anyone using Windows XP w/IE6 that doesn't have this problem? Meaning you open a window and then click File>New Window and the status bar is there by default on the New Window?
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Messages
378
Actually it is not under FILE, it should be under VIEW (drop down) Menu and it should have a check mark beside it! But i asked you guys before and you told me it was there but it was unchecking itself? Is this correct? Also I have windowsXP and have NO Problem, so far with it! I am sorry about that HP business, i kept thinking you have an HP Computer but i guess you don't!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top