Yahoo messenger

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gtldy53

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2004
Messages
57
Have messenger on XP computer,using netscape browser, working fine last Wed., then I can't sign in on Thurs., uninstalled program, installed program, no go. Nothing changed in the computer to cause this. I have checked the proxy connections, and all seems to be fine, like it was before.
Can someone help me?
Thanks, SB
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2006
Messages
358
What happens when you try to connect?
Do you get an error? If so, what is the error?
Can you connect to the internet outside messenger?
Have you installed any new security related software?
 

gtldy53

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2004
Messages
57
Messenger tries to connect like normal, but doesn't. It comes back up with my username and password to try again. No error. Nothing. Yes, I have connection to everything else. No new security added.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2006
Messages
358
Must you use a proxy? Maybe try going into the connection settings, and change it to no proxy. If you are at work, and must use a proxy, it's possible the proxy address has been changed. In that case, your network admin would have to provide the new one.
Try signing into Yahoo's website.if you have a problem there, it could be that your password was changed without your knowledge. It has happened to a few people i know...........if someone knows your user name, they can use Yahoo's password rest if they know the answer to the security question.
If you can sign into Yahoo's site, I would try reinstalling Messenger.
 

gtldy53

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2004
Messages
57
gone into yahoo website, signed in, all was well, just to be sure tho, did change password, then uninstalled messenger, reinstalled it, no go. I am showing no proxy used on computer here at work. Am open to more suggestions,lol.
 

gtldy53

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2004
Messages
57
my computer preferences says I have a direct connection to the internet.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2006
Messages
358
wow, I am not sure, then....sounds like you have covered everything. Is it possible they have changed policy at your job to not allow messengers?
Maybe someone else has some ideas!??
 

gtldy53

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2004
Messages
57
Thanks Deej,
I too believe it has something to do with a firewall, but I can't figure it out.... hopefully someone out there can give me another suggestion. Thanks for your time.
S
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top