1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

you need to format the disk in drive g before you can use it

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by meghank91, May 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. meghank91

    meghank91 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    so i just took a ton of pictures and i don't want to lose them.

    i have a memory card for my digital camera and i have never had problems in the past just putting it into my laptop (with windows vista) and importing the pictures. but today when i put it in a message popped up when i tried to access the content that said "you need to format the disk in drive g before you can use it." this has never happened before. and if i go to format it a message tells me all content on the card will be erased. i don't want that. i tried putting in another memory card and the same thing happened. i tried to format that one and it said format could not be complete. so what can i do? i don't know why this is happening all of the sudden!

    thank you :(
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,594
  3. meghank91

    meghank91 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    the links you gave me say that i should use that if i "have unintentionally deleted or formatted pictures, videos or sound files on your data carrier or have pulled it out during a write operation." but i didn't unintentionally delete anything. i can still view the content of the memory card on my camera. it's there. my computer just wont open it. i want to be able to see it on my computer.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,594
    The software can also be able to be used to retrieve data that is otherwise not accessible.

    If its accessible on the camera then connect the camera to the PC's via a USB cable and retrieve the photos that way. Then once you have the photos, re-format the card. If you can do this and the pictures are important then retrieve them this way before you even consider anything else.

    Has this exact card ever worked in either PC? Is it perhaps a SDHC card and the card readers in the PC are not compatible with SDHC cards?
     
  5. meghank91

    meghank91 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    i don't have a cable for the camera to connect to the PC.

    i am really confused by this problem because the memory card has always worked just fine before in this same laptop. this sort of came out of the blue. why would that happen? i just want to be able to use my memory card the same way i was able to before. i would put it in, a window would pop up asking me if i wanted to import photos, i'd say yes, and i'd have my photos on the computer. why wont that happen now?
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,594
    Anything that stores data is susceptible to corruption or failure, hence why companies and individuals spend big money on backups. Things break, it just happens with electronics.

    Try the data recovery programs.

    If the data recovery programs do not work and you want the pictures then buy a cable for the camera. The cables should only be a few dollars at local stores or online. Bigger stores like Best Buy may over charge for the cable.
     
  7. meghank91

    meghank91 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    i tried the data recovery programs and it says the "parameters are incorrect." this is so dumb! it's obviously a computer problem because it is happening with several memory cards that have all worked before.

    i appreciate you trying to help. let me know if you come up with anything else. if not, i'll be taking it to the geek squad (which i really don't want to pay for).
     
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,594
    Oops, I mis-read. I thought you said you tried another computer instead of you trying another card.

    Whats the make and model of your laptop?
     
  9. meghank91

    meghank91 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    HP Pavilion Entertainment PC.
     
  10. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,594
    It should have a DV####ab number. Look on the bottom for the exact model number.
     
  11. meghank91

    meghank91 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    pavilion dv5
     
  12. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,594
  13. meghank91

    meghank91 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    sorry. it's dv5-1002nr
     
  14. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,594
  15. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,417
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/924453