1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

your pc ran into a problem and needs to restart......

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Allicia_T, May 24, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Allicia_T

    Allicia_T Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    I was working at my computer and suddenly a blue screen popped up (see screenshots). (UGH!).
    This comps about 9 months old, maybe. I know they can fail out of the box. I'm on my little tablet to post this.
    It's been on this screen that says it needs to gather data then will restart, saying 100% complete, for over 30 minutes now, and it hasn't restarted.
    What should I do?
    On the blue screen at the very bottom, it reads:
    What failed: igdkmd64.sys
    Windows did that long April update the other day, and I suspect this is related to that.
    Unfortunately when I got the computer, I wasn't able to create a back up because shortly after that my external hard drive crashed. I've just gotten another one, but this happened before I could contact you all, to learn how to do back up (since it says back up for windows 7 though this refurbished came with windows 10 OS), so I don't have a back up. :(

    What do I do. Clearly she's not going to restart like the screen says. Seems I have no choice but to say a prayer and hit the power button....but wanted to check here first.
    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 123Zbyniek

    123Zbyniek

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    457
  3. Allicia_T

    Allicia_T Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    199

    I loaded the link and read the page. It lists 5 options to try.
    However...since it's on the blue screen, I cannot do any of those things.
    Am I to hit the power button on the my desktop tower to shut her down then try to restart her? I can't see how I'd to any of those options otherwise.
    Thanks.
     
  4. 123Zbyniek

    123Zbyniek

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    457
    Does the computer not respond to the simultaneous press of the Windows logo and R keys?
    upload_2018-5-24_19-11-55.png
     

    Attached Files:

  5. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Try the following:

    Force Safe Mode with Power On/Off

    1) Press the Power On/Off button to Start and Shut Down the computer 2-3 times to stat the Windows Recovery Environment.
    2) Select Troubleshoot > Advanced options > Startup Settings > Restart from the Choose an Option screen.
    3) After your PC restarts, select one of the following Safe Mode options you are instructed to from the Start Up Settings menu:
    • Safe Mode (4)
    • Safe Mode with Networking (5)
    • Command Prompt (6)
    4) Wait for Safe Mode to load.
    5) Logon with an Administrator account.
     
  6. Allicia_T

    Allicia_T Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    Do I do this from the blue screen or what? I want to be sure i do things right so i do not create more issues.
     
  7. Allicia_T

    Allicia_T Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    Not sure I understand how to do this safe mode?
    I'm on that blue screen now. Haven't touce up hed it since it came up.
    I am to hit the power button, which will turn her off, correct?
    Then hit power button to start her up, but then, once she is on again, shut her down, and repeat a third time?
    This will "stat the Windows Recovery Environment.". did you mean start vs stat? Then do step two? At step how will I know what option to select to 'restart from'?
    I'm flying blind here so want to be sure.
    Once she starts in safe mode and i log on (hope i know admin info), then what?
    by going into windows recovery, will i be resetting my computer back to when i first turned her on, losing my files etc? Just want to know what to expect here. I just know this is likely related to the big windows update (apparently it's an April update but just got the message on my computer the other day, to do it).
    Thank you for your help and patience.
     
  8. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Yes, do it from bluescreen. This will not mess anything up, it is designed that way as a troubleshooting method. Stop and Ask if any questions along the way.

    This is correct, however it should only take 2 times. If the system cannot load after two attempts it will start in this diagnostic mode.

    This is an integrated Recovery Environment built into Windows.

    We are hoping it will start in Safe mode or Command prompt then we can go from there on your best options or possible repairs. I will not direct you to do anything to harm your computer. Let me know if other questions.
     
  9. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
  10. Allicia_T

    Allicia_T Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    Oh, I know you won't direct me to do anything that would 'harm' the computer, but I'm always afraid I'll do something incorrectly so I like to know step by step things, to decrease the chances of that happening!

    When you can't just go out and buy another...it's much more nerve wracking when things act up! Very grateful I have this little nextbook so can post on here.

    Ironically, it was I think just after that windows update, Monday or Tuesday, I loaded a game I play (runescape) and I got the message that my graphics driver needed to be updated, and today was the day I planned to post on here to see how to figure out what driver I had and how to update it! Had some time today for that, but now I've spend it regarding this instead. I will now try to do the safe mode routine but am unsure what to do once I get to the restart (choose option stage). Wish me luck.
     
  11. Allicia_T

    Allicia_T Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    This was a windows 7 computer that was upgraded to windows 10 when it was refurbished, b4 i bought it.
     
  12. Allicia_T

    Allicia_T Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    Okay, I hit the power button and shut her down, then hit power button to turn her back on 3 times in a row. No blue screen (recovery) came up. All three times it loaded the page for me to log onto my acct., that would then take me to my desk top. So, now what should I do?She is at the log on window now.

    I did record all 3 times with my camera, but didn't see it really display any info during the boot ups other than the usual brief black/white dos window.

    If the video would maybe be helpful, i can try to upload it.
     
  13. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Okay great. I didn’t realize you never tried restarting after the bluescreen error. See if you can login to Windows and let me know what happens.

    If you can login, then please do the following so I can analyze your error

    Save the enclosed diag.txt file to your desktop
    Rename the file to diag.bat
    Double click on the file to Run
    Once it is finished it will create a SystemDiagnostics folder on your desktop
    Compress the folder to a .zip file
    Upload to your reply

    How to Compress/Uncompress .Zip files

    The SystemDiagnostic Folder should contain the following files after running.

    1. Antivirus.txt
    2. ApplicationEventlog.txt
    3. Dxdiag.txt
    4. Msinfo32.nvo
    5. Software.txt
    6. SystemEventlog.txt
    7. SystemInfo.txt
    8. Any Minidumps files that Exist (*.dmp)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Diag.txt
      File size:
      911 bytes
      Views:
      6
  14. Allicia_T

    Allicia_T Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    okay she loaded my desktop, so i will see if i can get to techguys, save this file , rename it try to run it. Nevr zipped aa file, so willread the link you sent. Hopefully, I'll succeed and be uploading the file.
     
  15. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Sounds good. Ask if any questions or issues.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1210674

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice