1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Your previous MS-Dos Files were not found. MS-Dos startup failed."

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by perrykurtz, Oct 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. perrykurtz

    perrykurtz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    This comes up in DOS when I boot. Does it matter?
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  3. perrykurtz

    perrykurtz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    I've tried changing keyboards and still get it. How will it affect the way my system runs?
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    *** deleted ***
     
  5. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Not at all since it is unable to initiate any process.

    Also could you locate your c:\msdos.sys file, open it in Notepad and copy/paste the contents here? Don't make any change to it.

    I think you may have a "bootwin=0" entry there.
     
  6. perrykurtz

    perrykurtz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Here ya go...

    ;FORMAT
    [Paths]
    WinDir=C:\WINDOWS
    WinBootDir=C:\WINDOWS
    HostWinBootDrv=C
    UninstallDir=E:\

    [Options]
    Logo=0
    Logo=1
    Logo=0
    Logo=0
    BootWarn=1
    Logo=0
    BootMenu=1
    BootKeys=1
    BootMenuDefault=0
    BootMenuDelay=7
    DoubleBuffer=1
    AutoScan=1
    WinVer=4.10.2222


    Not a sign of bootwin at all.

    Should I take out the ";Format"?
     
  7. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    You can remove the ;format entry, it really isn't doing anything.

    If you want the Windows Logo screen on bootup leave only logo=1 and remove all the logo=0 entries. If you don't want it, leave only logo=0

    Now under the [Options] header, add this and see if you continue to get that message:

    BootMulti=0
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168967

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice