1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Your view on backup with external hard drive vs. internal HDD in an enclosure?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by conceptualclarit, Sep 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. conceptualclarit

    conceptualclarit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    I have been looking for a 2TB portable external hard drive with USB 3.0 or equivalent. I'm now thinking seriously about getting a WD:
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...023&CatId=4227

    I'm hearing on other threads that external drives are not built for continuous use (cooling has been mentioned as an issue) and that one needs to go the more expensive route of an internal hard drive in a separately purchased enclosure.

    I would prefer having a secondary hard drive running concurrently with my computer. I know cooling devices are available for the internal HDD + enclosure combinations. Are they available for external hard drives?

    I intend to have online backup to supplement hardware backup.

    Comments on this dispute?



    Present :Windows XP
    Home Edition
    Version 2002
    32-bit
    Service Pack 3

    Dell DIMENSION DIM2400
    Intel(R)
    Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.66GHz
    x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 9
    2.05 GB of RAM
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV
    Graphics Controller, 64 Mb
    Hard Drive Size 114.4GB
    Free Space 37.2 GB
    Motherboard: Dell Computer Corp., 0G1548
    Antivirus : avast!

    Intending to move as soon as I find one to a new laptop with state of the art home user processing, at least 1 TB hard drive, and at least 8 GB RAM.
     
  2. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    The actual drive is identical.
    The only difference is the way it is attached and the way the power is supplied.

    Most decent external 3.5in drive enclosures have a fan in them. Also try and get one with a power switch, especially if the wall socket doesn't have one.
    If you're looking at external 2.5 in drive enclosures, also make sure you get one with a mains power supply as many come without.
     
  3. conceptualclarit

    conceptualclarit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Thanks, Dave. I'm looking for portable, so that generally means more expensive yet smaller ones. I've only across one "Desktop" hard drive that was categorized as portable.

    [QUOTEMost decent external 3.5in drive enclosures have a fan in them.][/QUOTE]

    Do the 2.5 in ones ever have a fan?
     
  4. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,773
    Don't think so .. They need all the USB 5v power to run the HDD .. (assuming you still want portable - self powered)
    Maybe you can find one Here

    The 2.5" laptop HDDs typically run slower (less power required - heat developed) and may not require cooling.

    I only see one 2.5" 2TB HDD ... But it won't fit in a Laptop (see the description) .. Then maybe not in an enclosure ..
    and it may require more power than a USB can provide ??
     
  5. conceptualclarit

    conceptualclarit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Thanks for the information, Noyb.

    Can I get laptop portability with the internal hard drive + separately bought enclosure option, and can I get it with a 3.5 in option?
     
  6. conceptualclarit

    conceptualclarit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Am I correct in suspecting that 2TB really isn't in the picture for a laptop-compatible internal hard drive / enclosure setup?
     
  7. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,773
    You still haven't answered ... that by portable .. You mean that you do not have access to line power.

    A 3.5" 2TB HDD with it's high speed and dual patters requires more power than can be provided by a USB (or Two) ..
    Connector.

    You could use a UPS for the power to a typical line powered external HDD.
     
  8. conceptualclarit

    conceptualclarit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    That would be the case temporarily at times.

    Getting a UPS has been a priority after getting hardware and online backup and then a new computer itself. I don't know much about them. I'm pretty sure I have just an ordinary surge protector.

    OK, internal + enclosure has its advantages. But I'm not seeing a lot of GB capacity so far.
     
  9. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,773
    If 4TB isn't enough .. you might need more than one
     
  10. conceptualclarit

    conceptualclarit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    58
  11. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    It is the height that is possibly stopping it. At 15mm it is not slimline.

    The maximum power you can take from any one USB controller is 500mA. Any more and you do need an external supply.
     
  12. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,139
    Actually this is not true. Both asus and gigabyte have programs to install that boost the usb output on their mb to approx 900ma. This is for charging iphone, etc. The gigabyte version even lets you charge devices with the computer OFF; the asus one will not charge with the system OFF however both boost usb pw output.

    The same can be done with a linux os however installing the program is more involved; ie you have to run the terminal and use apt-get then do the make install, etc.
    I even leave a usb cord connected to the gigabyte machine just for charging the iphone and my wife's tablet.
     
  13. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    My mains adapter has two USB 5v sockets for that sort of thing.
     
  14. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,139
    That is fine however both gigabyte and asus boards deliver more than 500ma. With linux, it is possible to get 900ma out of any mb however I am not sure if all board makers approve of the boosted current.
     
  15. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    I meant charging phones and stuff.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1109338

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice