1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Youtube

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by meggggggggggggg, Mar 16, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. meggggggggggggg

    meggggggggggggg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Hello, I've been having this problem for a while now and I'm not sure what is going on. Whenever I try to visit Youtube, or watch a youtube video (even if it's linked from another site), this page pops up and I can't figure out why or how to fix it. The page is entirely blank saev for the top left corner, where it has the Youtube headliner logo and what looks like the side menu bars, however when I click on the menu, nothing happens. I don't see how my adblocker would affect it, if anyone has had a similar problem or knows any information that could help I would appreciate it.


    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3517U CPU @ 1.90GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3981 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000, -2041 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 90 GB (22 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., UX31A
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated
     
  2. meggggggggggggg

    meggggggggggggg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    this is a screenshot of the page that pops up whenever i go to youtube
     

    Attached Files:

  3. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,219
    First Name:
    Derek
    Turn off your ad blocker to see what happens

    Youtube is a google owned site & runs on adverts. if adverts are blocked & a lot of adblockers wrongly or mistakenly also block innocent javascript that is hosted on the same servers that google use to display google ads.
    What happens is the adblocker blocks the entire google subdomain when it shouldn't do
    If you still get the problem when not using an adblocker then try a different browser & see what happens there
     
    metallica5456 likes this.
  4. meggggggggggggg

    meggggggggggggg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    turning off adblocker doesnt work, but it does work in internet explorer. But i can't find any extensions that would be doing this. i removed one security extension but that didn't work either. i saw someone with a similar problem who had to switch internet prviders, but we haven't switched anytime recently so i dont know how that would affect it.
     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,219
    First Name:
    Derek
    go to chrome /press 3 dots at top right / select more tools / extensions disable all extensions & try then
    if it works, then enable them 1 at a time & check until it stops working. The last one enabled will be your culprit
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1206875

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice