1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

zip drive message-the disk is not formatted???

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by busterdog, Oct 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. busterdog

    busterdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 1999
    Messages:
    339
    Hello all.
    What is going on with my drive?

    250mb zip-usb powerd

    I insert the disk and wait a while and get the message 'disk not formatted. Do you want to format it now'.

    Many thanks

    BD
     
  2. GwizJoe

    GwizJoe

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Is it a new disk?
     
  3. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    They are all pre-formated.

    Maybe you have got a new one that was made and formated for a MAC so it will need to be formated.

    I got a zip 250 drive for a PC but the disk that comes with it was a MAC FORMATED DISK. So I had to format it
     
  4. busterdog

    busterdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 1999
    Messages:
    339
    Thanks for the replies.

    I have 2 disks (250) but they are not new. Yesterday I put some files on them at work to take home but they would not open.
    Sometimes it lets me format them but on other occasions it doesn't.
    Another clue i forgot to mention was something about a 'cyclic redundancy check' whis pops up occasionally.

    Thanks for the help

    BD
     
  5. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    CLC is similar to a check digit. It is telling you that the data has not been read/written correctly. Does this error occur in all drives or just yours?
     
  6. busterdog

    busterdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 1999
    Messages:
    339
    Thanks Dave
    I have 2 250mb disks & 1 100mb.
    It is happening on them all. About aqn hour ago I was putting files on one of the 250's and it wrote about 90% and then came up with 'cannot write due to I/O error'.

    IT are trying to locate a spare disk so if they do I will try that. I have a sneaky suspicion that the drive is kaput.

    Hope Tamworth isn't as cold as Leeds

    BD
     
  7. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Sounds like the drive to me as well.
    It is cold, but I had to put my sunglasses on when I went for a walk. Still is very bright.
    What OS? There are some known problems with XP and USB
     
  8. busterdog

    busterdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 1999
    Messages:
    339
    OS is XP Pro on a corporate network.

    I am now getting a message asking me to insert a disk even though there is one in it.
     
  9. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Has SP1 been installed? Can you try it on another machine/OS?
     
  10. busterdog

    busterdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 1999
    Messages:
    339
    Our IT dept have given me another known to work drive to try. This drive cannot read the disk so I am assuming its the disks that are knackered.
     
  11. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    You still need to try the disks/drive on a different machine just to eliminate the possibility that it is your machine.
     
  12. busterdog

    busterdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 1999
    Messages:
    339
    Tried on another machine in the staff room.
    I will try on my home pc tonight.
    Thanks Dave
     
  13. busterdog

    busterdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 1999
    Messages:
    339
    No luck
    Tried my home PC and also my laptop.
    Stuff it. I think zip disks are about as reliable as floppys so I have asked IT for a usb pen.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/173333

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice