Zone Alarm Question

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

MacFromOK

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
1,741
Does anybody know why Zone Alarm simply
ignores my cuteFTP program? OK, it IS an
older 16 bit version, but it still works fine.

I have to shut down Zone Alarm to use it.
All the other progs I have pop up on the
Zone Alarm screen until I approve them,
but this one won't. Any ideas?

Thanks, Mac
 

MacFromOK

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
1,741
I can't get to that point. Zone Alarm never
acknowledges that it's running, although it
does prevent it from connecting.

Kinda spooky... :eek:
 

MacFromOK

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
1,741
Hey DS, :)

Nope. I've had Zone Alarm a while and pretty fairly
familiar with it. It's never failed to acknowledge any
other progs but this one.

Cheers, Mac
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2001
Messages
3,054
Hey Mac,

So you're having to shut down Z/A to use this FTP program?

I know that whenever I launch windows explorer an entry is made in Z/A, I just delete the entry......

Perhaps if you can launch your program from other than where it is currently starting from? I'm just asking is all.....

DS
 

MacFromOK

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
1,741
Well, I just solved the problem. I guess if all else
fails, read the manual... :rolleyes:

I found this at the Zone Alarm help website:

"FTP programs require local server rights. The configuration
needs to have Passive or PASV mode enabled, which tells
the client to use the same port for communication in both
directions. Enable that option in your FTP program."

So I did... and now it works with Zone Alarm running,
but Zone Alarm never did acknowledge the FTP prog,
and it still isn't listed in the programs (even when
it's running). But hey, it works.

Thanks for the input guys. :)

Cheers, Mac
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2001
Messages
3,054
Like port 21 both in and out type thing, correct?

.......so does that prog now show up in Z/A?

I guess not I just saw that you said it's a no show, strange :confused:

DS
 

MacFromOK

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
1,741
Originally posted by Dark Star
Like port 21 both in and out type thing, correct?
Yep. Apparently that was the problem. :)

And nope. It still don't show...:confused:

But it works. :D
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2001
Messages
3,054
Mac,

This is bugging me now......it works so that is a good thing. :D

Where is this prog lauch from? Is it an entry in msconfig?

I guess what I'm getting at is that since windows explorer always makes an entry in Z/A maybe it can be associated and launched from a place wherein it will make an entry....
.....like a path type thingy does any of this make any sence?:confused:

DS
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
Hey Mac,


Let the guys over at Zonelabs know about this. If it is a known issue, then you have only wasted an email, but I'm sure they would be interested in hearing that it isn't even listed, or seem to be noticed by ZA!

here's the link to there online support submission form.

I have reported, in the past, bugs or problems I had with ZA, and they always seemed thankful of my input.

It can only help to make ZA a better product!
 

MacFromOK

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
1,741
Well, I don't really know if an FTP prog is handled
like others or not. It's no big deal, I just wanted
to use it without shutting down Zone Alarm, and
I can do that now.

Since I really don't know if it's a bug, I hate to
complain to folks that's furnishing free software...

Does anybody else using Zone Alarm have an
FTP program?
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
I use Dreamweaver, and it is recognised in the Program listing of ZA.


I don't really think of this as a complaint, more of an informational, letting the ZA techs know that there "may" be an issue.

<img src= "http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=275075">
 

Attachments

MacFromOK

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
1,741
Hey Randy, :)

Dreamweaver is not just an ftp program, it's
an HTML editor/website builder. Probably a
little different from a straight FTP up/download
prog.

If nobody posts back here with an FTP prog
in a day or two, I'll try to go ahead and contact
the link you posted.

Thanks, Mac
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top