1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Zone Alarm

Discussion in 'Networking' started by STRAWB2, Oct 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. STRAWB2

    STRAWB2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Hi
    I have just installed zone alarm my computer is networked to a computer next to me but now i cannot access the internet via my other computer due to zone alarm any ideas how i set it up so the computer next to me can share my internet connection
    thanks
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You need to put the local computer IP addresses in the trusted zone.
     
  3. STRAWB2

    STRAWB2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    hi
    its the same ip as this computer thou?
     
  4. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    What version of Zone Alarm are you using? The free version does not support ICS. You will need to upgrade to Pro or get a router.
     
  5. STRAWB2

    STRAWB2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    thanks for that is there any free firewalls that support it?
     
  6. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    Hmmmmm. I don't know. I'm a Zone Alarm user and don't know about the others. You might look at Kerio or Tiny. You can find them at Wilders.org Sorry I can't tell you for sure.
     
  7. STRAWB2

    STRAWB2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    thanks for your help
     
  8. pfizzle

    pfizzle

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Open ZA, Click the Zones tab then on the left side click on Firewall.
    Click on Add then select IP Address.
    Enter the IP of your computer.
    Click Main tab then Firewall.
    Set Trusted Zone Security to medium. That’s how I configured my network which is a 98 connected by crossover to an XP which has the dial up modem and ZoneAlarm. If at first it doesn’t work try rebooting XP. Also you may have to enter a range of IP's instead of a specific IP
     
  9. STRAWB2

    STRAWB2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    hi
    yes got zone alarm pro now set it up and it spotted i had a network connection and set it up on its own but i still cannot get the internet to work on my other computer.
    as for putting the ip address in a trusted zone its the same as my main computer and it seems to change i am really lost with this please help
    thanks
     
  10. pfizzle

    pfizzle

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    you have to enter a range of IP's instead of a single one

    "add IP range" like 192.168.0.2 - 192.168.0.254
     
  11. STRAWB2

    STRAWB2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    nope still nothing my internet zone security is on high is that anything to do with it?
     
  12. pfizzle

    pfizzle

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    try adding a range to "Internet Zone" as well
     
  13. STRAWB2

    STRAWB2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    no nothing sorry to be a pain
     
  14. pfizzle

    pfizzle

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    on the Main tab in Firewall > "Trusted Zone Security" make sure the slider is set to Medium.
     
  15. pfizzle

    pfizzle

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    I am using free version of ZA with ICS. Two computers connected by crossover cable. Don't forget to check for online updates.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Zone Alarm
  1. zillah
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    107
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/172868

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice